Good settings (for me anyway)

All things VIVE and Flyinside related.

Moderators: Tony, Sharkku

Re: Good settings (for me anyway)

Postby G-PMEM » Mon May 09, 2016 8:35 am

Since posting and as others have done, you can up the resolution as much as you can and still remain flicker free. I think I currently have it at medium or medium-high resolution.
Peter
Windows 10, FSX:SE, P3D v4.1, i5 4670 3.4GHz, GTX 980, Vive, FI 1.82
G-PMEM
 
Posts: 85
Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2016 11:29 am

Re: Good settings (for me anyway)

Postby LandoT » Mon May 09, 2016 2:35 pm

Thanks for the heads up. I think I was at full resolution after I updated the nvidia settings, which still produced flickers. I'll try to put it in mid range and see what happens. What do you have your FSX/P3D settings at G-PMEM?
i7 7700k OC @ 4.8ghz
Nvidia Titan Xp OC
32gb Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200mhz DDR4
512gb SSD
16tb HDD
MSI Z170A M5
Win 10 x64
P3D v3.4, v4, and XP11
Vive
LandoT
 
Posts: 107
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2016 4:24 pm

Re: Good settings (for me anyway)

Postby gagagu » Thu May 19, 2016 3:59 am

I've switched from my DK2 to the Vive yesterday and i'm really disappointed. I'm using P3D with OrbX, Active Sky NExt, Rex Textures and VFR Germany with 35-50fps on my DK2 and the Instrument view (Chessna) was not good but readable.
With the vive it's more worse than with the DK2. Besides the flickering issues the fps is dropping down to 20-25 and the instruments are not readable anymore... After some setting changes (from this post and drastically lower the graphic setting in P3D and lower the resolution in FI) the flickerings are gone, the ftp are raised but the cockpit drawing is .... not really good.

I know that the vive has a better resolution as the dk2 and that will result in fps drop and i know that the vive hasn't timewarp and needs more fps (90) but i want not expecting that.

Please tell me that is because the FI Vive status is already alpha and it will be better in future or I'm toooo stupid to set up everything right.... :cry:
MSI x99s gaming 7, i7 5820_k, 16GB Ram, gtx 980 ti, Windows 10
HTC Vive, DK2, Lenovo Explorer
Flight Simulator X-Steam / P3D 3.4
X-Plane 10 and 11
Saitek Yoke/Throttle/Rudder Pedals and Saitek X52
gagagu
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Thu Oct 01, 2015 10:33 am

Re: Good settings (for me anyway)

Postby Zofar » Sat Jun 11, 2016 9:01 pm

G-PMEM wrote:Hi,

I don't know if this is of any use to anyone. But with my current settings I get 90/90 FPS with no blank/flashing frames.

I have a GTX 980 and use FSX Steam with photo scenery.

FI Settings:

resolution: 2368x1315
Monitor Display: 1 FPS
SMAA: Ultra
MSAA: 2x
FOV: 108%

NVidia Settings:

Anisotropic: 8x
FXAA: On
Anti-aliasing: Application Controlled
Max prerendered: 1
MFAA: On
Power management: Prefer maximum performance
Texture filtering-Quality: Performance
Triple buffering: Off
Vsync: Use the application settings
VR prerendered: 1

Peter


Hello,

I dont understand how you can have 90 fps with this settings. i tried that and the max i can have is 50-55/90 fps
My specs are:
gtx 980
i5 4690 3.5 ghz
windows 8.1

I tried it all. i put all the settings to the lowest, and all i can have is 65. The highest settings give me 45-50 fps.
So, how can you have 90FPS ?
Any advices from your part would be appreciated. thanks !
Wndows 10- I5 4690 - Nvidia Geforce 980 - 16 gb ram - HTC Vive - FSX - Orbx Global - Orbx Vector
Zofar
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2016 12:22 am

Re: Good settings (for me anyway)

Postby Tony » Sat Jun 11, 2016 9:28 pm

Probably the biggest difference to performance is he is on windows 10 with dx11 and 12 support and you're still windows 8 ???

Tony
Tony F
Customer Support = contact tony@flyinside-fsx.com
FlyInside Inc.
Tony
 
Posts: 4813
Joined: Sat May 30, 2015 3:20 pm
Location: Rift User

Re: Good settings (for me anyway)

Postby Zofar » Sat Jun 11, 2016 10:34 pm

Tony wrote:Probably the biggest difference to performance is he is on windows 10 with dx11 and 12 support and you're still windows 8 ???

Tony


Yes because i never have the need to change. My games ran always very smoothly on windows 8, until i have the Vive :shock: . So im going to get windows 10.
Wndows 10- I5 4690 - Nvidia Geforce 980 - 16 gb ram - HTC Vive - FSX - Orbx Global - Orbx Vector
Zofar
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2016 12:22 am

Re: Good settings (for me anyway)

Postby Zofar » Sun Jun 12, 2016 1:09 pm

So i installed Windows 10 and that changed nothing. I am still around 50 fps with medium high settings.
What can i do to have a better fps ? I tried everything with the settings and it does not change anything.

Specs: gtx 980 - i5 4690 3.5 ghz - win 10

Thanks
Wndows 10- I5 4690 - Nvidia Geforce 980 - 16 gb ram - HTC Vive - FSX - Orbx Global - Orbx Vector
Zofar
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2016 12:22 am

Re: Good settings (for me anyway)

Postby G-PMEM » Sun Jun 12, 2016 3:38 pm

I was getting 90/90 with version 1.50. With the latest version 1.52 I get about 63/90. Bit of a shame but it's all still work in progress I guess.
Peter
Windows 10, FSX:SE, P3D v4.1, i5 4670 3.4GHz, GTX 980, Vive, FI 1.82
G-PMEM
 
Posts: 85
Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2016 11:29 am

Previous

Return to HTC Vive

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron