Problem testing Flyinside with Oculus Rift CV1 on FSX-SE

All things CV1 and Flyinside related.

Moderators: Tony, Sharkku

Problem testing Flyinside with Oculus Rift CV1 on FSX-SE

Postby harper » Tue Apr 26, 2016 7:40 am

Hi everyone,

I'm trying to get Flyinside working on the Oculus Rift CV1 without any luck currently. When I launch everything looks good and I'm brought to the screen in Oculus to set my flight up. I choose C172 and PHNL for a default flight to try it out. It begins to load and then I'm in the cockpit looking around perfectly for about 10 seconds and then it freezes and takes me back out to the FlyInside menus in Oculus. I was wondering if you guys would have any ideas for me to try.

Here's my information.

I have the FSX-Steam Edition version.
I downloaded and installed the FlyInside FSX Pro 1.5 for OVR 1300 file(Trial Version). I allowed it to make the necessary changes it asked to make.
My Oculus Rift CV1 is updated to the latest software.
My NVIDIA driver is the current (364.72)

i7 4790k 4.0 GHZ
16GB DDR3 RAM
GTX 970 4GB
Oculus Rift CV1

Thank you and my apologies if this issue was addressed elsewhere. I spent some time searching the forum and didn't see this exact problem.

Harper
Last edited by harper on Sat Apr 30, 2016 7:34 am, edited 1 time in total.
harper
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2016 7:26 am

Re: Problem testing Flyinside with Oculus Rift CV1

Postby Bruce_C » Tue Apr 26, 2016 7:58 am

Hi and Welcome to the forum.

That's an odd sounding problem. Have you tried any other aircraft/locations? Try default aircraft first, ideally in areas without any add on scenery.

Another option is to rename or move your FSX.CFG (or FSX-SE.CFG) file which will force FSX to rebuild it, this can sometimes solve issues with the way FSX is configured.

Let us know how you get on and failing any quick fix perhaps Dan will have some suggestions.

Cheers,

Bruce
i7-5820K Running @3.8GHz, 16GB RAM with Windows 10, GTX980 (384.94) Oculus Rift CV
Thrustmaster Warthog HOTAS & CH Pro Pedals

Image
Bruce_C
 
Posts: 657
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2015 1:03 pm
Location: Midlands, UK

Re: Problem testing Flyinside with Oculus Rift CV1

Postby harper » Tue Apr 26, 2016 8:15 am

Thanks for your reply. I have indeed tried removing the FSX.CFG to let the sim rebuild it. The aircraft is default C172 and the scenery is default Hawaii.
harper
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2016 7:26 am

Re: Problem testing Flyinside with Oculus Rift CV1

Postby Tony » Tue Apr 26, 2016 8:27 am

Hi mate , are you launching from Oculus home ? Or from steam vr ?

Tony
Tony F
Customer Support = contact tony@flyinside-fsx.com
FlyInside Inc.
Tony
 
Posts: 4637
Joined: Sat May 30, 2015 3:20 pm
Location: Rift User

Re: Problem testing Flyinside with Oculus Rift CV1

Postby Bruce_C » Tue Apr 26, 2016 8:30 am

You actually need to use the FlyInside shortcut to launch, it can't be launched any other way as far as I know.
i7-5820K Running @3.8GHz, 16GB RAM with Windows 10, GTX980 (384.94) Oculus Rift CV
Thrustmaster Warthog HOTAS & CH Pro Pedals

Image
Bruce_C
 
Posts: 657
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2015 1:03 pm
Location: Midlands, UK

Re: Problem testing Flyinside with Oculus Rift CV1

Postby harper » Tue Apr 26, 2016 9:12 am

I am launching from the FlyInside Shortcut and I'm using Oculus Rift CV1.
harper
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2016 7:26 am

Re: Problem testing Flyinside with Oculus Rift CV1

Postby Tony » Tue Apr 26, 2016 9:20 am

Something sounds like it's interfering somewhere ? What joystick are you using ? Any other peripherals that you have ? Quickly Tey removing them then restart flyinside and FSX and see if the problem returns ?

Tony
Tony F
Customer Support = contact tony@flyinside-fsx.com
FlyInside Inc.
Tony
 
Posts: 4637
Joined: Sat May 30, 2015 3:20 pm
Location: Rift User

Re: Problem testing Flyinside with Oculus Rift CV1

Postby harper » Tue Apr 26, 2016 9:24 am

Saitek AV8R joystick, keyboard, mouse, nothing else. The button I set for the Saitek Joystick works perfectly to get everything going, but as soon as I'm in the plane I'm taken back out to the menu. I'm going to try starting FSX by itself and loading a flight to see if it will do that.
harper
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2016 7:26 am

Re: Problem testing Flyinside with Oculus Rift CV1

Postby Tony » Tue Apr 26, 2016 9:44 am

Sorry mate just another quick question? Are you using win 7 or 10 ?

Tony
Tony F
Customer Support = contact tony@flyinside-fsx.com
FlyInside Inc.
Tony
 
Posts: 4637
Joined: Sat May 30, 2015 3:20 pm
Location: Rift User

Re: Problem testing Flyinside with Oculus Rift CV1

Postby Tony » Tue Apr 26, 2016 9:59 am

Any joy ?

Tony
Tony F
Customer Support = contact tony@flyinside-fsx.com
FlyInside Inc.
Tony
 
Posts: 4637
Joined: Sat May 30, 2015 3:20 pm
Location: Rift User

Next

Return to Oculus Rift CV1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest