Pixels override

All things CV1 and Flyinside related.

Moderators: Tony, Sharkku

Pixels override

Postby cromhunt » Mon May 23, 2016 5:41 pm

Have seen this stuff on DCSWorld forum about ability to improve readability for instruments in cockpits.
This software is included with the Oculus SDK as "OculusDebugTool"
Image
surlined case shows up a setup from 0.After reading forum this value can be set upto 2 or more.
Have give it a try with set to 1.4 on DCSworld and the result is fantastic.
Using it is very easy.
have only to launch the soft and apply a value between 0 and 2 for"Pixels per Display Pixel override"Let software running and launch any of OculusVR game.
Will see a stunning improvement of display.
Be aware that you will see judder with a value too close of 2 and more

On an other part DCS Devs talking about an implementation in game.
I wonder if it could be done for flyinside?

see you next:)
cromhunt
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2015 12:31 pm

Re: Pixels override

Postby aerohead » Tue May 24, 2016 10:50 am

Isn't this essentially doing the same thing as raising the resolution within FlyInside above the native rift resolution?

Has anybody tried this change of Pixesl with FlyInside yet...?
i7-5280 @ 4.5Ghz, AMD R290 with triple monitors, DK2 and CV1, 8GB DDR4, 256GB SSD & 2TB HDD
FSX-SE, Win10, Oculus Runtime 1.4, Fly-Inside 1.4
aerohead
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Feb 10, 2016 1:10 pm
Location: Minnesota

Re: Pixels override

Postby rj16066 » Tue May 24, 2016 12:25 pm

Now do you just minimize the Debug tool, or do you close it once you set your number?

Thanks
RJ
VRS-SB +TP-FSX+ Acc.-/VRS -P3D TP and SB/ P3D v3/ TMWH /Saitek CRP/ FSUICP4/Flyinside/LeapM

Win10 64bit /5930 i7 @ 3.5ghz/x99 UD3 / GTX980 SC 4Gig- /Corsair 1000w PS/ 32-gig corsair Vengeance
rj16066
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon May 09, 2016 1:57 pm

Re: Pixels override

Postby Tony » Tue May 24, 2016 12:34 pm

Interesting ? I wonder if there's any long term harm with overriding the settings like that ? Looking forward to hear someone's report with fsx or p3d ?

Tony
Tony F
Customer Support = contact tony@flyinside-fsx.com
FlyInside Inc.
Tony
 
Posts: 4759
Joined: Sat May 30, 2015 3:20 pm
Location: Rift User

Re: Pixels override

Postby cromhunt » Tue May 24, 2016 6:25 pm

Hello:)
Sorry i can't make good attempt with FSX SE and Flyinside running,when "Oculus debug tool" is on and setted up.
Because Flyinside seems conflicting with it and switches the tracking camera of Oculus to off.

On an other part it happens only with both FSX SE and Flyinside together .
With other games like Project cars ,DCS world ,Elite dangerous...and any of VR games or demos,the tracking camera works fine.

For those who are owner of an Oculus rift give it a try at least on the OVR menu and will see the improvement even with the "Oculus debug tool " setted to 1.
Try it please and post your comments.

I saw a post talking about the clarity in FSX, and i would say that the solution is there.
The "Pixel Per Display Pixels override" is very useful to get a more clear instruments reading.

How to use :
1-Launch the "Oculus debug tool" from his folder in /ovr_sdk_win_1.4.0_public/OculusSDK/Tools/
2-set "Pixel Per Display Pixels Override" to 1 or 1.4 or 2 and let it running ,don't minimize.
3-Launch "Oculusclient" to get the OVR menu.Will see big improvement of clarity.

4-Or launch any of VR games.Will see same improvement.

see you next:)
cromhunt
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2015 12:31 pm

Re: Pixels override

Postby FlyInsideFan » Fri Jun 17, 2016 9:31 pm

I think it's important to load the Oculus Home "first" , then the debugtool. Many people report performance issues the other way around.
FlyInsideFan
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 11:23 pm

Re: Pixels override

Postby rssluca » Sun Jun 19, 2016 4:02 am

I wonder what Dan's thoughts are on this one. I want to try as well as soon as I get my hands on a 1080. Tried it on Eve and wow what a difference it makes!
rssluca
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2016 7:18 am

Re: Pixels override

Postby theskyisthelimit99 » Thu Aug 25, 2016 12:36 pm

Is there any similar hacks for the HTC Vive, or perhaps there is no need for one? Just curious.. still researching which goggles I'm going with..
Z170-a | SL Delid 6700k 4.7 1.402-0.008LLC6(vcore=1.44) | F4-3200C15D-16GVK @1.40 at 3466 | TT 3.0 Riing | Thermaltake v51 | Evga 1080FTW Hybrid Water(43c p3d) | Rift | Leap | CH Yoke/Pedals | P3D v3.4.14 and Aerofly FS2 (evo SSD)/XP10(std sata)
Flight-Stew | Tech-Stew
theskyisthelimit99
 
Posts: 142
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2016 12:34 pm

Re: Pixels override

Postby Tony » Thu Aug 25, 2016 1:48 pm

There is no real need for both hmd's to have the override as Dan implements an increment for both with his magic ;)

Tony
Tony F
Customer Support = contact tony@flyinside-fsx.com
FlyInside Inc.
Tony
 
Posts: 4759
Joined: Sat May 30, 2015 3:20 pm
Location: Rift User


Return to Oculus Rift CV1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron