I just received a Leap Motion. How can anyone use this?

All things CV1 and Flyinside related.

Moderators: Tony, Sharkku

I just received a Leap Motion. How can anyone use this?

Postby keem85 » Thu Jul 28, 2016 12:04 pm

I installed the Orion drivers, and it's near impossible to hit the right buttons in the sim. I tried hand distance 200% aswell as 100%.. The hands are twitching all over the place!! They are touching every buttons they sweep past. Even when setting treshold.. Also the latency is horrible on this thing. Can't predict properly where my hand goes.. I am genuinely curious to how you guys manage to use this thing? It's not meant as a rant, just pure frustration after waiting so long to get these, just for Flyinside...
MOBO: GA-Z87X-UD4H
Processor: i7 4770K @4.4
GFX: MSI 1080 Gaming X
RAM: Corsair Vengeance Pro 2400
OS: Windows 10 x64
Main sim: X-Plane 10

Image
keem85
 
Posts: 300
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2015 3:05 pm

Re: I just received a Leap Motion. How can anyone use this?

Postby admin » Thu Jul 28, 2016 1:00 pm

While Leap Motion takes some practice, it sounds like you may have a setup issue. The latency makes me wonder whether you have the Leap plugged into an overloaded USB port, or a bad USB cable. Could you experiment with ports/cables and let me know if it makes a difference?

Only other thing I can think of is too low a frame-rate leading to extreme latency. What are your FPS like?
Your friendly neighborhood developer!
Contact Me: dan@flyinside-fsx.com
admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2709
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 8:36 am

Re: I just received a Leap Motion. How can anyone use this?

Postby keem85 » Thu Jul 28, 2016 1:11 pm

Hey

I had 45 - 50 fps in this case.. I have no more USB ports to try. Might have to buy a new PCI USB card for testing though.. Also, when hoovering over a button, it appears a blue marker of that button several centimeters above it.. Is it a bug with Flyinside maybe?
MOBO: GA-Z87X-UD4H
Processor: i7 4770K @4.4
GFX: MSI 1080 Gaming X
RAM: Corsair Vengeance Pro 2400
OS: Windows 10 x64
Main sim: X-Plane 10

Image
keem85
 
Posts: 300
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2015 3:05 pm

Re: I just received a Leap Motion. How can anyone use this?

Postby admin » Thu Jul 28, 2016 1:39 pm

That is a bug with FlyInside. What aircraft are you seeing that in, and do you see it with other aircrafts?
Your friendly neighborhood developer!
Contact Me: dan@flyinside-fsx.com
admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2709
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 8:36 am

Re: I just received a Leap Motion. How can anyone use this?

Postby keem85 » Thu Jul 28, 2016 1:46 pm

I had it with A2A Cessna 172. So it works with stock airplanes maybe?
MOBO: GA-Z87X-UD4H
Processor: i7 4770K @4.4
GFX: MSI 1080 Gaming X
RAM: Corsair Vengeance Pro 2400
OS: Windows 10 x64
Main sim: X-Plane 10

Image
keem85
 
Posts: 300
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2015 3:05 pm

Re: I just received a Leap Motion. How can anyone use this?

Postby admin » Thu Jul 28, 2016 4:01 pm

I believe so. Could you check whether using a stock aircraft "fixes" the bug on your computer? I'll be investigating the A2A shortly
Your friendly neighborhood developer!
Contact Me: dan@flyinside-fsx.com
admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2709
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 8:36 am

Re: I just received a Leap Motion. How can anyone use this?

Postby Sharkku » Thu Jul 28, 2016 5:57 pm

Sounds like something is very wrong. Have you calibrated the Leap, using a large actual mirror? Have you tried to eliminate external IR sources as far as possible? Is the Leap working correctly in other demos? I can recommend Blocks from the Leap homepage.
CPU: i7-7700K @4.6 GHz, GPU: GTX1080Ti, RAM: 16 GB, OS: Win10 64-bit, HMD: Rift CV1
Software: FSX:SE, FFS, Nvidia driver: 391.35, Oculus runtime: public test channel, FlyInside 1.8013 beta

Beta tester and site mod
Sharkku
 
Posts: 789
Joined: Mon May 18, 2015 10:11 am
Location: Kalmar, Sweden

Re: I just received a Leap Motion. How can anyone use this?

Postby keem85 » Fri Jul 29, 2016 6:14 am

Hi guys

I've tested, and I have no lags on other applications other than FlyinsideP3D. On the Microsoft version of 737-800 I also had this button bug, but I am using Alejandro Virtual Cockpit mod for this one.. So it's probably because of that..
Also when I'm using stock Cessna 172 from Microsoft, the buttons align properly, but it's not possible to turn knobs.. I was trying to fly VOR to VOR, but it was impossible to turn the needle and also turn the radio knobs around.. Completely impossible!
The only thing I managed to use the LM for, was the ATC, FLAPS and IGNITION.. Sounds like the LM integration needs to be more refined, especially for stock planes where they at least should work.. I can understand it with third party planes though.
MOBO: GA-Z87X-UD4H
Processor: i7 4770K @4.4
GFX: MSI 1080 Gaming X
RAM: Corsair Vengeance Pro 2400
OS: Windows 10 x64
Main sim: X-Plane 10

Image
keem85
 
Posts: 300
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2015 3:05 pm

Re: I just received a Leap Motion. How can anyone use this?

Postby Sharkku » Fri Jul 29, 2016 7:14 am

Just sit tight, a very refined LM integration is in beta atm. Hopefully will be released soon!
CPU: i7-7700K @4.6 GHz, GPU: GTX1080Ti, RAM: 16 GB, OS: Win10 64-bit, HMD: Rift CV1
Software: FSX:SE, FFS, Nvidia driver: 391.35, Oculus runtime: public test channel, FlyInside 1.8013 beta

Beta tester and site mod
Sharkku
 
Posts: 789
Joined: Mon May 18, 2015 10:11 am
Location: Kalmar, Sweden

Re: I just received a Leap Motion. How can anyone use this?

Postby coffecup1978 » Tue Aug 02, 2016 5:27 pm

admin wrote:I believe so. Could you check whether using a stock aircraft "fixes" the bug on your computer? I'll be investigating the A2A shortly


I also found it was "workable" on the stock C172, but in the a2a one the highlighted buttons maybe 20cm offset from reaching the buttons.
Thanks&Regards,
coffecup1978
-
i5-4690K@4.7GHz - ASUS DUAL GTX1070 - 8GB ram 2400Ghz DDR on Gigabyte Z97-SLI - Samsung EVO 840 240 GB SSD - Win10 x64 - XP11 FSX:SE AFS2- CV1
coffecup1978
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2016 6:51 am


Return to Oculus Rift CV1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron