P3Dv4-POOR framerate, tried everything!!

Talk about anything FlyInside related.

Moderators: Tony, fenflame, Sharkku, Greyman, Bruce_C, Stevil

P3Dv4-POOR framerate, tried everything!!

Postby joebelter » Mon Mar 12, 2018 11:19 pm

Hi, everyone!
I have P3dv4 running on a computer at 4ghz, overclocked i7-4790 CPU, 32gigs ram, GTX-1070 graphics card. Flyininside is showing 18-20 FPS in just about any area of Orbx areas. I have tried lowering ALL the settings in BOTH P3d AND Flyinside. The framerate is STUCK at 18-20fps! I've read just about everything to fix this, reinstalled both P3d and Flyinside... nothing helps.

Please help!!

Joe
joebelter
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2018 11:05 pm

Re: P3Dv4-POOR framerate, tried everything!!

Postby Tony » Tue Mar 13, 2018 12:51 pm

Hi Joe, do you have any add-ons? If yes then disable them and delete or save the p3d.cfg and let p3d via Flyinside restart. Also what HMD are you using
Tony F
Customer Support = contact tony@flyinside-fsx.com
FlyInside Inc.
Tony
 
Posts: 4289
Joined: Sat May 30, 2015 3:20 pm
Location: Rift User

Re: P3Dv4-POOR framerate, tried everything!!

Postby joebelter » Wed Mar 14, 2018 12:59 am

I have the newest Oculus Rift...
When you say "addons" do you mean remove the aircraft and weather features I've added?
That would be a HUGE job...

Or way worse... you don't want me to remove all my scenery, right? I have TONS of Orbx scenery added.
It would be a MONSTER job. I'd almost rather not use the software if I have to start over...

Please help!
Joe
joebelter
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2018 11:05 pm

Re: P3Dv4-POOR framerate, tried everything!!

Postby Mr_man » Wed Mar 14, 2018 5:59 am

Had the same problem. In the end I dumped v4(nice waste of $60 plus cost of FI for P3Dv4, but there ya go - could say the same for XP11).

Went back to P3Dv3 and it's running as brilliantly as it always has in VR. Apart from the regular light flashes - but that happens in all of them, so...
Mr_man
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jan 21, 2018 11:48 am

Re: P3Dv4-POOR framerate, tried everything!!

Postby Tony » Wed Mar 14, 2018 7:54 am

Joe I'd never tell you to remove stuff ;) in p3d settings what fps do you have the slider set on ?
Tony F
Customer Support = contact tony@flyinside-fsx.com
FlyInside Inc.
Tony
 
Posts: 4289
Joined: Sat May 30, 2015 3:20 pm
Location: Rift User

Re: P3Dv4-POOR framerate, tried everything!!

Postby joepoway » Wed Mar 14, 2018 11:34 am

joebelter wrote:Hi, everyone!
I have P3dv4 running on a computer at 4ghz, overclocked i7-4790 CPU, 32gigs ram, GTX-1070 graphics card. Flyininside is showing 18-20 FPS in just about any area of Orbx areas. I have tried lowering ALL the settings in BOTH P3d AND Flyinside. The framerate is STUCK at 18-20fps! I've read just about everything to fix this, reinstalled both P3d and Flyinside... nothing helps.

Please help!!

Joe


Joe

I have a system similar to you but have a CPU clocked to 4.5, the CPU clock speed is the critical link to FPS in P3D. The use of Process Lasso, an addon optimization tool, also helps greatly. Settings are key particularly autogen buildings and vegetation, dynamic lighting, shadows and others obviously. Another thing is that Orbx sceneries can be very hard. I have pretty much all the Orbx stuff but have found through a lot of testing the worst offenders are Orbx Vector and Orbx Regions because they deploy everything (base, land class, and vectors within them). The worst region by far is Southern Ca. I only run Orbx Base and Land Class and a few airports like KSAN but go into the setup tab for that airport in FTX Central and turn some stuff off. I find Flightbeam airports to be less FPS demanding.

Bottom line you have to turn eye candy down and I and others find Process Lasso indispensable to set CPU useage and priorities which help the demand on the first core tremendously. Also I run Active Sky off a client PC since it can be too demanding on the host PC.

Here’s a link to a post I made on the P3D forum where I created a spreadsheet to track settings for monitor, Native VR, and Flynside flying this way you can see or share how things differ when optimizing for each type of flying. I also setup profiles under graphics and switch to each depending on how I’m going to fly that session. The spreadsheet is connected to a Dropbox link that hundreds of people have downloaded from. Oh I also included my Active Sky settings but remember I use a networked PC for that.

https://www.avsim.com/forums/topic/5319 ... -settings/

I find FI to be able to handle the 30 FPS it needs quite well and my experience is very good.

Hope this helps
Joe (yes I’m Joe as well)
i5-2500k @ 4.5Ghz; GTX 1070 G1;32Gb ram; 2 SSD's; Win 10 Pro 64; P3Dv4.2;XP 11;DCS;Aerofly FS 2; All FlyInside Products; Active Sky;SPAD.next;VoiceAttack;Little NavMap;Dynamic FFTF;Process Lasso; 40in 4K TV w/ Native 30 Hz; Oculus Rift CV1; Avid VR user
joepoway
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2016 5:24 pm

Re: P3Dv4-POOR framerate, tried everything!!

Postby joebelter » Thu Mar 15, 2018 3:13 am

These are all great replies! Thanks so much for taking the time, really.
My biggest concern is that I HAVE set ALL the sliders in EACH app to the lowest setting possible, then the HIGHEST levels and and the FPS is always the same. It never varies by more than 1 or 2 fps. It stays under 20 and over 17. I understand the big impact CPU and sceneries have on FPS. I've been using P3d for many years and flight sims since they came out in the early 80's. I'm familiar with all the graphic sliders in P3D and now Flyinside. The framerate never changes whatever I do; high/low - whatever.
I can fly DCS ships in very high settings in my Oculus Rift with excellent results. Even with shadows and water on DCS is excellent. It has been the case with the new 2.5 version as well as previous Alphas and Betas. If it was my computer or graphics card DCS would bring the FPS to its knees...
One interesting comment someone made was that P3Dv3 worked better... I actually had it working BEAUTIFULLY with the last version of 3. For some strange reason Flyinside stopped working with it and crashed on starting the app. I tried everything to clean out P3Dv3, reinstall, the works - but Flyinside just won't work with it. I fired up P3dv4 and it's all working, just not the framerate. I have BOTH versions of Flyinside.

Any ideas?
Joe
joebelter
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2018 11:05 pm

Re: P3Dv4-POOR framerate, tried everything!!

Postby fenflame » Thu Mar 15, 2018 4:11 pm

joebelter wrote:These are all great replies! Thanks so much for taking the time, really.
My biggest concern is that I HAVE set ALL the sliders in EACH app to the lowest setting possible, then the HIGHEST levels and and the FPS is always the same. It never varies by more than 1 or 2 fps. It stays under 20 and over 17. I understand the big impact CPU and sceneries have on FPS. I've been using P3d for many years and flight sims since they came out in the early 80's. I'm familiar with all the graphic sliders in P3D and now Flyinside. The framerate never changes whatever I do; high/low - whatever.
I can fly DCS ships in very high settings in my Oculus Rift with excellent results. Even with shadows and water on DCS is excellent. It has been the case with the new 2.5 version as well as previous Alphas and Betas. If it was my computer or graphics card DCS would bring the FPS to its knees...
One interesting comment someone made was that P3Dv3 worked better... I actually had it working BEAUTIFULLY with the last version of 3. For some strange reason Flyinside stopped working with it and crashed on starting the app. I tried everything to clean out P3Dv3, reinstall, the works - but Flyinside just won't work with it. I fired up P3dv4 and it's all working, just not the framerate. I have BOTH versions of Flyinside.

Any ideas?
Joe


I have the same setup , except less memory and overclocked up to 4.6Ghz. I also have full Orbx Suite.

I have the settings on medium/normal typically, dynamic lighting OFF (this is a must !!!) , HDR lighting off. Shadows off. Weather programs are a big killer, I dumped the big weather suites, namely Active Sky P3DV4 /ASCA in favor of FSrealWX and Soft clouds. I always keep volumetric fog off. Weather looks great in VR and no major performance drops. Right now in VR you are wasting resources on eye candy you can't even really enjoy with those weather suites.
For traffic I use UTLive, which is actually the most FPS friendly traffic package I've used. Still got a couple of quirks, but it sits outside the simulator and injects as it needs to based on your settings.
Be sensible with the settings in FTX Vector, no reason to show minor roads etc. I disable road traffic.
I typically fly an A2A Piper and get an FPS range from 38/90 to 60/90 or the Aerosoft CRJ900 which runs at 28/90 to 45/90. Its the number on the right that has the biggest effect, if its drops below 90, your system is over-taxed.

Finally, the latest NVidia drivers are dogs. Go back to the 388.xx drivers. I'm on 388.59. Opt out of Oculus Beta if you are in it.
If you search my login name I have posted my settings in much more detail in previous threads and also a procedure to ensure the sim is making the best use of the cores. When it loads up, it loads very heavy on one core. You can disable that core and re-enable it to get it to balance better. Process Lasso can be used for this too, but I just prefer to do it manually when I fire the simulator up.

At first I found V4 to be slower than V3, but after some experimenting I eventually had V4 running better and no longer having VAS issues like I did in V3 !!!

If you have a ZX motherboard and good cooling, you can push that CPU up a bit more that equals higher FPS more than anything else. The 4790K even a few years on is still one of the best processors for P3D. The 1070 is fine for FI and P3D.

Youi def. have the hardware to run FI fine with V4.

A complete reload of P3D is always a good starting place to zero out your system, adding one thing at a time. I gained about 5fps last time I that.

Alan.
Win10-64, i7-4790K OC to 4.7GHZ, 16GB DDR3, EVGA GTX1070 8GB OC, 1 Monitor , CV1, Saitek Rudder Pedals, CH Eclipse Yoke, P3DV4
FI P3DV4 Beta Tester.
fenflame
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2016 10:42 pm
Location: A Brit who lives in Salem NH, USA

Re: P3Dv4-POOR framerate, tried everything!!

Postby joebelter » Sat Mar 17, 2018 12:02 am

Tony,
Have you given up on my issue? I'd sure like to know if anyone else has had a similar experience.
There has to be something I can do. I did answer your last question... the sliders are at the bottom, as all of them are.
I was hoping I would get good support from you folks...

Joe
joebelter
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2018 11:05 pm

Re: P3Dv4-POOR framerate, tried everything!!

Postby pilotoring » Sat Mar 17, 2018 10:20 pm

Hi Joe,

I am having the same experience on a system similar to yours, both in hardware and software setup. What I observed is that my cpu utilization is in the range of 40-50% consistently across all cores (you can find out in process lasso or task manager). So the problem is not the weak cpu but the processing power of cpu is not being fully utilized, which explains why changing the sliders does not affect FPS, and also process lasso does not help FPS either in my case.

I have no idea what causes the problem. But one good thing is that I can crank up sliders without lowering FPS. The effect of higher slider setting seems only impact gpu memory usage. Oddly it does not even affect the gpu usage itself, which is always in the 80% range. All these info are gathered from HWmonitor.
i7-4790k OC'd @ 4.6GHz with HT off, NVIDIA GTX 970, 16 GB RAM, Oculus Rift cv1, Windows 10 pro 64 bit, Flyinside-FSX Pro 1.9, Flyinside-XP Pro 1.9, Flyinside-P3d 1.9, Orbx Global Base & Vector, REX TD with Soft Clouds, AS for p3dv4.
pilotoring
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2016 7:43 pm

Next

Return to FlyInside General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest