P3D v4.1 Tweaking

Moderators: Tony, fenflame, Sharkku, Greyman, Bruce_C, Stevil

P3D v4.1 Tweaking

Postby LCYCowboy » Sat Oct 21, 2017 7:31 am

Hello All,

I know that there is a FlyInside Wiki page, but I have recently got back into flying P3D (after a while solely on DCS) and having spent days installing the latest versions (thanks for v4 Dan) I have it running.

In v3 I was always getting about 40-50/90 fps with FI. After installing v4 and setting it up with similar settings, I was getting 30/90 and 20/90 with the PMDG DC-6. Turning down the Super Sampling in FI didn't help much.

I did a lot of trawling, and found a few threads (non vR) on AVSIM. I now have the sim running at about 50/90 with the A2A Comanche and 35-40/90 with the DC-6. I am aware that I may still be missing something, so was hoping that we could set up some kind of thread which shares all of the tips people have found to smooth things out. I know everyone has different hardware, but there must be some settings which really help everyone.

For my part, I did the following:

Change ASCA cloud textures to 512x512. This had a big impact, and as the VR resolution is quite bad anyway, makes little or no difference to what you see.

Anisotropic Filtering can stay at 16 without any noticeable difference.

I run VSync off and leave target FPS at unlimited (is this the best setting for VR)

One thread mentioned leaving Mesh res at 19m and Texture res at 60cm, as anything above isn't all that noticeable, and it helps.

Here are my settings:

p3d 1.jpg
p3d 1.jpg (51.42 KiB) Viewed 1953 times


p3D 2.jpg
p3D 2.jpg (49.1 KiB) Viewed 1953 times


p3d 3.jpg
p3d 3.jpg (37.82 KiB) Viewed 1953 times




Can anyone see anything glaring which would help?

I know traffic is a killer, but I just love the immersion of cars whizzing along as I come in to land.

Thanks

Neil
FlyInside 1.92

P3D v4.2

Oculus CV1

Windows 10 Pro

i7-6700K @ 4.6 GHz - GTX 1080 - 16 GB Corsair DDR4 3000 MHz RAM
LCYCowboy
 
Posts: 63
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2016 6:26 pm

Re: P3D v4.1 Tweaking

Postby malexdu » Sun Oct 22, 2017 9:21 am

Great idea LCYCowboy,

I stand to be corrected... but I think Flyinside will not run with vsync enabled, however it may be linked to what monitor your using. I have played around with the target frame rate, results vary considerably subject to where your flying, but I have found setting it to unlimited gives me the best results as well. In terms of frame rates...I have found shadows can have a big hit, I turn clouds, buildings and terrain cast shadows to off. On my system this can give me a 2-7 FPS boost.

For me VR is the only way to go, but there is a price to pay...and that is in graphics. Any advice to help make the graphics a little clearer and easier to read is a winner for me, especially AA and texture filtering settings. Also advice on Nvidia settings could be useful as well.

Regards
Malexdu

Win 10 (64 bit) / i7-8700K @ 5.0 mhz / 32mb RAM / P3Dv4.2 / Vive Headset /AS & ASCA / vPilot v2.1 /Flyinside P3D4 / Orbx Scenery /GTN650/750
malexdu
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2016 3:01 am

Re: P3D v4.1 Tweaking

Postby Tony » Sun Oct 22, 2017 9:52 am

Good idea I'll make this a sticky ;)
Tony F
Customer Support = contact tony@flyinside-fsx.com
FlyInside Inc.
Tony
 
Posts: 4258
Joined: Sat May 30, 2015 3:20 pm
Location: Rift User

Re: P3D v4.1 Tweaking

Postby FlyingMonkey » Wed Nov 01, 2017 4:06 am

I'm curious about the option "mipmap VC panels": why did you choose to turn it off? It is supposed to improve the clarity of instruments a lot. Is it because it doesn't work well in VR or is too taxing? I had it on by default and didn't even notice that option until now.
FlyingMonkey
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Thu May 21, 2015 3:58 am

Re: P3D v4.1 Tweaking

Postby malexdu » Sun Mar 04, 2018 9:39 am

I know Flyinside does not support SSAA and if set it will ask to change this on start up. Once FI is running go to the P3D menu and change AA to 2 x SSAA. The improvement in simmer is very noticeable and impact on performance not a killer. If you use 4 x SSAA this is even better, but in areas with lots of addons such as London with Orbx scenery etc. it does have an impact on frame rates.

Question ....why does FI not allow SSAA?
Malexdu

Win 10 (64 bit) / i7-8700K @ 5.0 mhz / 32mb RAM / P3Dv4.2 / Vive Headset /AS & ASCA / vPilot v2.1 /Flyinside P3D4 / Orbx Scenery /GTN650/750
malexdu
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2016 3:01 am


Return to General forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest