Your settings for X-plane

Moderators: Tony, Sharkku

Your settings for X-plane

Postby Tony » Tue May 23, 2017 12:57 pm

Hi all, I want to hear everyone's successful settings they use for a good experience. This post is twofold. To help others and to hear what your experiences are like. Either list your settings or post a screenshot :)

Thanks
Tony F
Customer Support = contact tony@flyinside-fsx.com
FlyInside Inc.
Tony
 
Posts: 4659
Joined: Sat May 30, 2015 3:20 pm
Location: Rift User

Re: Your settings for X-plane

Postby davidlr » Wed May 24, 2017 10:37 am

Hi Tony,

For XP11 11.01r

HDR on

No antialiasing - either within XP or FI. Everything else within FI pretty standard except resolution.

Resolution set to 5120 2880, ie 5K, within the settings_pro_FlyinsideXP_settings.ini file. This hammers my system but gives really good (sharp) resolution on cockpit and scenery (Ortho4XP see below). It is also the reason I can get away with no AA. I have had to tweak the graphics setting to compensate in order to give me fps in the 20s - see pic below (I use XP11SettingsTool); I obviously get faster fps with clearer weather but also with dusk/dawn flights. I have tried a resolution of 4080 2295 in oder to get better perofrmance but the graphics realism at the higher setting is too good to lose. I typically fly the Carenado F33A wth REP (latest for XP11), Airfoil Labs C172, and FF 757 V2

Using SkyMaxx Pro v4 in lieu of XEnviro. I actually find that I can tweak it to be faster than the default. I will try XEnviro again when they next update it. Have got both XEnviro 1.04 and 1.06 working - the latter works for me with HDR - but I don't like the clouds.

Ortho4XP scenery - typically ZL=18 around airports with a base of ZL=17 for tiles in strong areas of interest or ZL=16 for all other (typically transit areas)

Hyperthreading on my i7-5820K set off - despite Ben Supnik of X-Plane suggesting leave it on. On my system, so far, it is more stable and faster with it off. I might try HT on again when 11.02r is out.

I am happy with the set up so far. Would like better performance but do not want to sacrifice the graphics quality. I constantly cross compare with P3D, Aerofly FS2, and DCS. The latter have, for me at least, really great and fast graphics, and are the graphics benchmarks for XP and P3D.

David
Attachments
XP11_settings.JPG
XP11_settings.JPG (97.13 KiB) Viewed 9454 times
HTC Vive i7-5820K GTX 1080 Ti SC Win 10 Home 16GB
davidlr
 
Posts: 76
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2016 5:02 pm

Re: Your settings for X-plane

Postby Tony » Wed May 24, 2017 11:16 am

Hold on a sec !!! Where do you get that setting page ?
Tony F
Customer Support = contact tony@flyinside-fsx.com
FlyInside Inc.
Tony
 
Posts: 4659
Joined: Sat May 30, 2015 3:20 pm
Location: Rift User

Re: Your settings for X-plane

Postby davidlr » Wed May 24, 2017 11:34 am

Hold on a sec !!! Where do you get that setting page ?


I use XP11SettingsTool - it is a standalone app that allows you tweak more settings without getting buried in file editing.
HTC Vive i7-5820K GTX 1080 Ti SC Win 10 Home 16GB
davidlr
 
Posts: 76
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2016 5:02 pm

Re: Your settings for X-plane

Postby Stevil » Wed May 24, 2017 12:40 pm

Tony wrote:Hold on a sec !!! Where do you get that setting page ?


Tony... :roll:
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=5317

Posted on 6th of April by me ;) Welcome to the forum :lol:
CPU Intel i7 4790K - GPU Zotac GTX 1080 Mini - RAM 16gb DDR3 Mobo Gigabyte GAMING 5 - Drive 750GB SSD - OS Win 10 x64 - Simulator X-Plane v11.11 RC1
HTC Vive
Stevil
 
Posts: 1010
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2016 2:48 pm
Location: EDDK, Cologne / Germany

Re: Your settings for X-plane

Postby Tony » Wed May 24, 2017 12:51 pm

Well if I read everything on this forum..........wait........thats my job :oops: lol ok I missed that MR Stevil so thanks for pointing that out to me :)
Tony F
Customer Support = contact tony@flyinside-fsx.com
FlyInside Inc.
Tony
 
Posts: 4659
Joined: Sat May 30, 2015 3:20 pm
Location: Rift User

Re: Your settings for X-plane

Postby Stevil » Wed May 24, 2017 1:04 pm

Tony wrote:Well if I read everything on this forum..........wait........thats my job :oops: lol ok I missed that MR Stevil so thanks for pointing that out to me :)


I know that you're a busy guy and you have your family...you're excused ;) :D
CPU Intel i7 4790K - GPU Zotac GTX 1080 Mini - RAM 16gb DDR3 Mobo Gigabyte GAMING 5 - Drive 750GB SSD - OS Win 10 x64 - Simulator X-Plane v11.11 RC1
HTC Vive
Stevil
 
Posts: 1010
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2016 2:48 pm
Location: EDDK, Cologne / Germany

Re: Your settings for X-plane

Postby peter65 » Fri May 26, 2017 11:45 am

Hello Davidlr,

Can you tell me how to set resolution to 5120 2880, within the settings_pro_FlyinsideXP_settings.ini file?

I really don't know how to do this...

Thanks
peter65
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Sep 15, 2015 6:22 am

Re: Your settings for X-plane

Postby davidlr » Fri May 26, 2017 12:53 pm

Hi Peter65

Can you tell me how to set resolution to 5120 2880, within the settings_pro_FlyinsideXP_settings.ini file?


You should have a folder similar to this:

"C:\Users\<your name>\AppData\Roaming\FlyInside", and within this a file:

"settings_pro_FlyInside XP_settings.ini"

I recommend that you copy this file somewhere safe should anything that follows go wrong... Once you have a copy, edit the original either with MS's Notepad, or an editor like Notepad++ (suggest you google this if you have not come across it). I have an HTC Vive and so what follows relates to that. I am guessing below what the corresponding line is for a Rift user. If I get this wrong, someone with a Rift can correct this. You want to find the line within the [Graphics] section that says:

Vive Target Resolution = xxxx yyyy

or
(I am guessing for the Rift)

Oculus Target Resolution = xxxx yyyy

The xxxx and yyyy will be the current resolution setting. You want to change xxxx to 5120 and the yyyy to 2880.

So, the line should look like:

Vive Target Resolution = 5120 2880

or (qualified guess for the Rift):

Oculus Target Resolution = 5120 2880

Save the file and start XP as usual. Note that this will take a heavy hit on the graphics and lower fps. You are most likely going to have to reduce some of the graphics settings. However, you should see a noticeable increase in sharpness. I certainly do with the Vive.

If you don't like what you then have, revert to the original file.

Hope this helps...


David
HTC Vive i7-5820K GTX 1080 Ti SC Win 10 Home 16GB
davidlr
 
Posts: 76
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2016 5:02 pm

Re: Your settings for X-plane

Postby Tony » Fri May 26, 2017 1:30 pm

Nice post David ;) it may interest you or maybe not. I loaded the config file you posted a pic of and this caused some nasty artefacts. Namely horrible dark shadows on the cockpit and outside. Does it work flawlessly for you mate ?
Tony F
Customer Support = contact tony@flyinside-fsx.com
FlyInside Inc.
Tony
 
Posts: 4659
Joined: Sat May 30, 2015 3:20 pm
Location: Rift User

Next

Return to General forum *Discontinued* 25th Jan 2019

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron