HDR or no?

Moderators: Tony, Sharkku

Re: HDR or no?

Postby admin » Fri Dec 16, 2016 7:04 pm

So HDR should work, and non-HDR should work as well. That said, some are experiencing glitches with HDR, and some are experiencing darkness without HDR in X-Plane 11. If you are experiencing a glitch in either case, messing around with other settings may help, and bug reports (like in this thread) are welcome as we try to nail this down and improve reliability :)
Your friendly neighborhood developer!
Contact Me: dan@flyinside-fsx.com
admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2710
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 8:36 am

Re: HDR or no?

Postby anubhav100 » Fri Dec 16, 2016 8:23 pm

Thanks Dan. Appreciate all your help.

I have been doing a lot of tweaking and have finally landed a stable case with HDR. Having are my results All my testing is in Cessna 172 at default KLAS in clear weather durining day

1. AA is the key - I started off with no AA settings in XP11, but kept the FI MFAA at 8x. This gets me to a nice 45-50 (in-sim) / 90 (atw)
2. I then turned on AA to 2x SSAA and this still keeps me in flying range of about 35-40 (in-sim) / 90 (atw)
3. I then tried turning on "Enable Oculus ASW" feature - and while it starts me at 45/45 - it eventually settles back in 35-40 / 90 (atw). However this is very inconsistent and on some tests, I was still able to maintain ASW. However, I get some weird peripheral shimmering/reflections type on the sides of my view when using ASW, so I prefer to not use ASW.
4. Now, if I switch OFF "Enable Oculus ASW" - half the time I get back to my original 35-40 (in-sim) / 90 (atw), but the other half I end up at 60/20. Its really odd because nothing else has changed (my aircraft is parked so view hasn't changed) but I can't recreate 35-40/90 result in half the case.
5. If I go into XP settings and change any AA or Graphics (for e.g. bump up the AA to 4x), I again end up around 60/20. If I then go back into XP and dial the AA down again to 2x, I end back at 35-40/90.

Finally, there are certain instances where I load up my aircraft (AA at 2x, No ASW i.e. my usual 35-40/90 case), but I end up seeing 60/20 again. So I went back into XP settings, bumped down the AA to nothing, went back into sim, went BACK into XP settings AGAIN and bumped up the AA back to 2x, and voila, I am back at 35-40/90. Its odd that the same scenario may end up showing different performance levels after a setting has been changed AND THEN UNCHANGED.

Maybe all this really shows is the software isn't 100% reliable yet as I can't reproduce the same performance in the scenario all the time.. but hopefully reports like these are helpful?

All said and done - fantastic work again Dan. Definitely an evolutionary step in the right direction and my guess is many of these performance related issues might be XP related too...
---
i7-6700k @ 4.6GHz, GTX 1080, Oculus Rift CV1, X-Plane 11, 64GB RAM, Windows 10 Pro
anubhav100
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2016 6:33 pm

Re: HDR or no?

Postby Jzig » Sat Dec 17, 2016 12:42 am

Have you found that running a higher resolution hurts your FPS less than a lower res with AA? I don't really understand why the higher res seems so much clearer when they are way beyond the rifts native res of 2160x1200.
i7 4790K | 16GB DDR3 2400mhz | Asus gtx1070 8GB | Rift CV1 w/ Touch | Win10 x64 on SSD | XP10/11 on SSD
Jzig
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2016 12:28 am

Re: HDR or no?

Postby MartinW » Sat Dec 17, 2016 8:45 am

That's due to 'downsampling'. It's a tactic that I've seen NVidia's GEForce Experience thing do as well, set the resolution to something higher than the monitor resolution and then downsample it back to your screen size. For a physical monitor I would say it's a peculiar thing to do as I didn't really see much advantage but with the HMD it definitely gains clarity.

Incidetnally Dan, the above long description pretty much sums up my issues as well. I'm hoping to find the time today to sort out exactly which feature is causing it.
System: i7 6700k, 4.2ghz | 32gb DDR4 | GTX1080 | Asus GeneVIII | 500GB M2.SSD | 2TB Hybrid | W1064
VR: Oculus Rift CV1. Leap Motion.
SIM: P3D, FSX, XP11, Saitek Yoke, Throttle & Trim wheel, CH Pro Pedals
MartinW
 
Posts: 140
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2016 4:22 am
Location: W.Somersrt, UK

Re: HDR or no?

Postby theskyisthelimit99 » Mon Dec 19, 2016 9:19 pm

anubhav100 wrote:Thanks Dan. Appreciate all your help.

I have been doing a lot of tweaking and have finally landed a stable case with HDR. Having are my results All my testing is in Cessna 172 at default KLAS in clear weather durining day

1. AA is the key - I started off with no AA settings in XP11, but kept the FI MFAA at 8x. This gets me to a nice 45-50 (in-sim) / 90 (atw)
2. I then turned on AA to 2x SSAA and this still keeps me in flying range of about 35-40 (in-sim) / 90 (atw)
3. I then tried turning on "Enable Oculus ASW" feature - and while it starts me at 45/45 - it eventually settles back in 35-40 / 90 (atw). However this is very inconsistent and on some tests, I was still able to maintain ASW. However, I get some weird peripheral shimmering/reflections type on the sides of my view when using ASW, so I prefer to not use ASW.
4. Now, if I switch OFF "Enable Oculus ASW" - half the time I get back to my original 35-40 (in-sim) / 90 (atw), but the other half I end up at 60/20. Its really odd because nothing else has changed (my aircraft is parked so view hasn't changed) but I can't recreate 35-40/90 result in half the case.
5. If I go into XP settings and change any AA or Graphics (for e.g. bump up the AA to 4x), I again end up around 60/20. If I then go back into XP and dial the AA down again to 2x, I end back at 35-40/90.

Finally, there are certain instances where I load up my aircraft (AA at 2x, No ASW i.e. my usual 35-40/90 case), but I end up seeing 60/20 again. So I went back into XP settings, bumped down the AA to nothing, went back into sim, went BACK into XP settings AGAIN and bumped up the AA back to 2x, and voila, I am back at 35-40/90. Its odd that the same scenario may end up showing different performance levels after a setting has been changed AND THEN UNCHANGED.

Maybe all this really shows is the software isn't 100% reliable yet as I can't reproduce the same performance in the scenario all the time.. but hopefully reports like these are helpful?

All said and done - fantastic work again Dan. Definitely an evolutionary step in the right direction and my guess is many of these performance related issues might be XP related too...


I tried replicating what you did with my setup and couldnt come close.. what card/cpu are you using? Is your FI res set to 3840?
I tested in a very heavy hitting NYCX area.. where without HDR i get around 28 fps (clear skies)..

When i first turned on HDR things became 17-21 fps max..

I tried what you did, turning off AA in XP and vice versa, but it made things worse.. at one point i was getting 6 fps/ 35 or less without asw enabled.. not sure why.. so i gave up on hdr..

Turned everything back to what i had it at.. FI AA at 4X and sim at 4x with the top bar at medium instead of "HDR"..

This is really not that usable without a bright cockpit and HDR.. a bit frustrated. (using the cessna 172) Either way, with HDR and XP11 the fps is worse and without AA set its a shimmering mess.. i havent tried SGSS or NI changes yet (i'm pretty sure though, with NI thread optimization on auto it was better than on off).
Z170-a | SL Delid 6700k 4.7 1.402-0.008LLC6(vcore=1.44) | F4-3200C15D-16GVK @1.40 at 3466 | TT 3.0 Riing | Thermaltake v51 | Evga 1080FTW Hybrid Water(43c p3d) | Rift | Leap | CH Yoke/Pedals | P3D v3.4.14 and Aerofly FS2 (evo SSD)/XP10(std sata)
Flight-Stew | Tech-Stew
theskyisthelimit99
 
Posts: 142
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2016 12:34 pm

Re: HDR or no?

Postby Astro » Tue Dec 20, 2016 5:51 am

I`m getting very mixed results with XP11 too.
With HDR on the lighting is very nice but the shimmering is awfull, no matter whatt AA setting I use.
I am also getting artifacts on the outer edges, might be that the load on the gpu is too heavy.
Without HDR it looks pretty nice, although dark, pulling up the dark and bright color modifier sliders in FI helps.
The biggest problem I have without HDR is an artefact on the horizon, like distant mountains shining through,
the more I decrease visibility the wider it gets, it also changes with head movement.
has anybody encountered this.

Wolfgang
I7 6700K 4.2 GHZ-16GB RAM-Titan X Pascal-Win 10-CV1
Astro
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2016 6:53 pm

Re: HDR or no?

Postby Tony » Tue Dec 20, 2016 5:54 am

Hi Wolfgang, try disabling AA in xp11 and having x 8 in Flyinside menu then fiddle with you settings from there and see how it goes ?

Tony
Tony F
Customer Support = contact tony@flyinside-fsx.com
FlyInside Inc.
Tony
 
Posts: 4810
Joined: Sat May 30, 2015 3:20 pm
Location: Rift User

Re: HDR or no?

Postby Astro » Tue Dec 20, 2016 6:14 am

Thanks Tony I´ll give that a try.
I7 6700K 4.2 GHZ-16GB RAM-Titan X Pascal-Win 10-CV1
Astro
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2016 6:53 pm

Re: HDR or no?

Postby theskyisthelimit99 » Tue Dec 20, 2016 9:38 am

Tony wrote:Hi Wolfgang, try disabling AA in xp11 and having x 8 in Flyinside menu then fiddle with you settings from there and see how it goes ?

Tony


I gave this a shot as well.. it was better on frames but areas like NYCX turned into a shimmering mess unfortunately.
Z170-a | SL Delid 6700k 4.7 1.402-0.008LLC6(vcore=1.44) | F4-3200C15D-16GVK @1.40 at 3466 | TT 3.0 Riing | Thermaltake v51 | Evga 1080FTW Hybrid Water(43c p3d) | Rift | Leap | CH Yoke/Pedals | P3D v3.4.14 and Aerofly FS2 (evo SSD)/XP10(std sata)
Flight-Stew | Tech-Stew
theskyisthelimit99
 
Posts: 142
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2016 12:34 pm

Re: HDR or no?

Postby Astro » Tue Dec 20, 2016 2:55 pm

Hello

I just played around with HDR and AA of in XP11 using the FI x8 AA.
It is just too much shimmering.
I would really prefer HDR of, but then I get that strange visibility bug.
Looking down everything is ok, but viewing straight out of the cockpit the haze does strang things.
Wolfgang
Attachments
normal- view.jpg
normal- view.jpg (347.35 KiB) Viewed 4525 times
down-view.jpg
down-view.jpg (342.96 KiB) Viewed 4525 times
I7 6700K 4.2 GHZ-16GB RAM-Titan X Pascal-Win 10-CV1
Astro
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2016 6:53 pm

PreviousNext

Return to XP11 Bug Reporting Here *Discontinued* 25th Jan 2019

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron