XP11 extensive testing with flyinside results

Moderators: Tony, Sharkku

Re: XP11 extensive testing with flyinside results

Postby theskyisthelimit99 » Sat Jan 14, 2017 12:59 pm

I discovered this tool to adjust settings not available in v11 that were in v10.. not sure if it works or not, but i may give it a try to help boost the frame rate..

http://forums.x-plane.org/index.php?/fi ... -settings/
Z170-a | SL Delid 6700k 4.7 1.402-0.008LLC6(vcore=1.44) | F4-3200C15D-16GVK @1.40 at 3466 | TT 3.0 Riing | Thermaltake v51 | Evga 1080FTW Hybrid Water(43c p3d) | Rift | Leap | CH Yoke/Pedals | P3D v3.4.14 and Aerofly FS2 (evo SSD)/XP10(std sata)
Flight-Stew | Tech-Stew
theskyisthelimit99
 
Posts: 142
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2016 12:34 pm

Re: XP11 extensive testing with flyinside results

Postby theskyisthelimit99 » Sat Jan 14, 2017 11:57 pm

Here is a sortof non VR related issue.. at least i think..

Testing around NYCX DD, aiming at the city i typically now with pb6 get 37-39 fps to start (clear skies) and 90-92 atw..

If i turn up texture quality to max from high (now at the second from end notch).. boom.. 15-20 fps and atw around 50 or less..
(only shows up after you close and reopen XP)

So for now i leave it on high.. i'm not sure why this is the case.. it said it was using 6gb of textures.. i have the 1080 ftw hybrid, with 8gb of memory however.
Z170-a | SL Delid 6700k 4.7 1.402-0.008LLC6(vcore=1.44) | F4-3200C15D-16GVK @1.40 at 3466 | TT 3.0 Riing | Thermaltake v51 | Evga 1080FTW Hybrid Water(43c p3d) | Rift | Leap | CH Yoke/Pedals | P3D v3.4.14 and Aerofly FS2 (evo SSD)/XP10(std sata)
Flight-Stew | Tech-Stew
theskyisthelimit99
 
Posts: 142
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2016 12:34 pm

Re: XP11 extensive testing with flyinside results

Postby Astro » Sun Jan 15, 2017 3:09 pm

Hello
I think the VRAM display in XP is of little meaning for us.
I made some tests with GPU-Z, I´m getting almost 6GB usage with medium texture quality and 2880 resolution, X-plane says 1.3GB VRAM.
Basically I think Flyinside does a great job, as does XP Pb6, I think its more a matter of hardware.
I might order a Titan X this week and see how that goes.
I7 6700K 4.2 GHZ-16GB RAM-Titan X Pascal-Win 10-CV1
Astro
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2016 6:53 pm

Re: XP11 extensive testing with flyinside results

Postby theskyisthelimit99 » Sun Jan 15, 2017 4:36 pm

Astro wrote:Hello
I think the VRAM display in XP is of little meaning for us.
I made some tests with GPU-Z, I´m getting almost 6GB usage with medium texture quality and 2880 resolution, X-plane says 1.3GB VRAM.
Basically I think Flyinside does a great job, as does XP Pb6, I think its more a matter of hardware.
I might order a Titan X this week and see how that goes.


Interesting. I've been meaning to check with gpuz. How bout setting to maximum. Do u experience horrid fps after a restart of xp
Z170-a | SL Delid 6700k 4.7 1.402-0.008LLC6(vcore=1.44) | F4-3200C15D-16GVK @1.40 at 3466 | TT 3.0 Riing | Thermaltake v51 | Evga 1080FTW Hybrid Water(43c p3d) | Rift | Leap | CH Yoke/Pedals | P3D v3.4.14 and Aerofly FS2 (evo SSD)/XP10(std sata)
Flight-Stew | Tech-Stew
theskyisthelimit99
 
Posts: 142
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2016 12:34 pm

Re: XP11 extensive testing with flyinside results

Postby Astro » Sun Jan 15, 2017 4:50 pm

Yes just the same here. horrible frames.
I7 6700K 4.2 GHZ-16GB RAM-Titan X Pascal-Win 10-CV1
Astro
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2016 6:53 pm

Re: XP11 extensive testing with flyinside results

Postby theskyisthelimit99 » Sun Jan 15, 2017 11:18 pm

Astro wrote:Yes just the same here. horrible frames.



At least i know its not just me, thanks :)

On another front.. Seems that x-camera 2.2 b4 and b5 both have an issue where if you have it installed, it sticks you outside of the plane by default.. i had xcamera in plugins before (the non beta version), for use when doing 2D replays and it never bothered the VR side of things till now..
Z170-a | SL Delid 6700k 4.7 1.402-0.008LLC6(vcore=1.44) | F4-3200C15D-16GVK @1.40 at 3466 | TT 3.0 Riing | Thermaltake v51 | Evga 1080FTW Hybrid Water(43c p3d) | Rift | Leap | CH Yoke/Pedals | P3D v3.4.14 and Aerofly FS2 (evo SSD)/XP10(std sata)
Flight-Stew | Tech-Stew
theskyisthelimit99
 
Posts: 142
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2016 12:34 pm

Re: XP11 extensive testing with flyinside results

Postby Stevil » Mon Jan 16, 2017 1:21 am

Astro wrote:Hello
I think the VRAM display in XP is of little meaning for us.
I made some tests with GPU-Z, I´m getting almost 6GB usage with medium texture quality and 2880 resolution, X-plane says 1.3GB VRAM.
Basically I think Flyinside does a great job, as does XP Pb6, I think its more a matter of hardware.
I might order a Titan X this week and see how that goes.


What's your bottleneck? CPU or GPU?
You should take a look what needs more time to conplete a frame an upgrade based on that
CPU Intel i7 4790K - GPU Zotac GTX 1080 Mini - RAM 16gb DDR3 Mobo Gigabyte GAMING 5 - Drive 750GB SSD - OS Win 10 x64 - Simulator X-Plane v11.11 RC1
HTC Vive
Stevil
 
Posts: 1010
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2016 2:48 pm
Location: EDDK, Cologne / Germany

Re: XP11 extensive testing with flyinside results

Postby Astro » Mon Jan 16, 2017 3:27 am

Hello Stevil
I´m not sure if it is that simple, X-plane runs fine on my monitor, even with fairly high settings I rarely get less than 30fps.
VRAM usage is about what is displayed in X-plane.
When using Flyinside it is quite different, VRAM usage is vastly increased and I´m getting to my 6GB limit pretty fast.
I noticed that when Im nearing the limit the GPU usage goes down from something like 70 pecent to about 40.
I think that happens when data is tranferred into the PC´s RAM wich is slower.
My conclusion is that especialy supersampling and antaliasing is happening on the GPU, so that is where we need more VRAM and power.
I7 6700K 4.2 GHZ-16GB RAM-Titan X Pascal-Win 10-CV1
Astro
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2016 6:53 pm

Re: XP11 extensive testing with flyinside results

Postby Stevil » Mon Jan 16, 2017 6:19 am

Astro wrote:Hello Stevil
I´m not sure if it is that simple, X-plane runs fine on my monitor, even with fairly high settings I rarely get less than 30fps.
VRAM usage is about what is displayed in X-plane.
When using Flyinside it is quite different, VRAM usage is vastly increased and I´m getting to my 6GB limit pretty fast.
I noticed that when Im nearing the limit the GPU usage goes down from something like 70 pecent to about 40.
I think that happens when data is tranferred into the PC´s RAM wich is slower.
My conclusion is that especialy supersampling and antaliasing is happening on the GPU, so that is where we need more VRAM and power.


You are new to X-Plane, aren't you? Do a search on how to find the bottleneck in the sim:
Activate fps details showing in the menu and see what takes more time to render a frame.

I wouldn't buy new hardware just blindly without knowing the bottleneck.
CPU Intel i7 4790K - GPU Zotac GTX 1080 Mini - RAM 16gb DDR3 Mobo Gigabyte GAMING 5 - Drive 750GB SSD - OS Win 10 x64 - Simulator X-Plane v11.11 RC1
HTC Vive
Stevil
 
Posts: 1010
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2016 2:48 pm
Location: EDDK, Cologne / Germany

Re: XP11 extensive testing with flyinside results

Postby Astro » Mon Jan 16, 2017 6:57 am

No I´m not, I´m with X-plane since v 9, I know how to search for bottlenecks, I just think
that VR is a different set of problems. it is a matter of balancing GPU resources between X-plane and Flyinside,
the higher your supersampling ad AA the less resources XP has for rendering.
Even if you try to shut down all CPU hogs with the dataref. editor you will notice that once you crank up the resolution in FI you will not be able to reach or hold 90fps.
It is not that I´m a big fan of spending money on a new GPU, I just have the feeling that our main limiting factor is not the developement of XP or FI rather than hardware not beeing capable enough for what we are asking.
I7 6700K 4.2 GHZ-16GB RAM-Titan X Pascal-Win 10-CV1
Astro
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2016 6:53 pm

PreviousNext

Return to XP11 Bug Reporting Here *Discontinued* 25th Jan 2019

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest