Black screen in X-Plane (FIXED)

Moderators: Tony, Sharkku

Help to track down Black screen in X-Plane, GPU Type and RAM

I have an Nvidia card with 2GB of RAM
0
No votes
I have an AMD card with 2GB of RAM
0
No votes
I have an Nvidia card with 4GB of RAM
12
15%
I have an AMD card with 4GB of RAM
2
3%
I have an Nvidia card with 6GB of RAM
11
14%
I have an AMD card with 6GB of RAM
0
No votes
I have and Nvidia card with 8GB of RAM
38
48%
I have an AMD card with 8GB of RAM
2
3%
I have a card with more than 8GB of RAM
14
18%
 
Total votes : 79

Black screen in X-Plane (FIXED)

Postby Tony » Wed Feb 15, 2017 12:02 pm

To help Dan and the devs track down this issue please list your GPU in the poll and post your bug/problem with X-plane 10 or 11 in a message below.

Answer the poll then respond with type of GPU and if DDR 4 or 5.

Many thanks all :)
Tony F
Customer Support = contact tony@flyinside-fsx.com
FlyInside Inc.
Tony
 
Posts: 4813
Joined: Sat May 30, 2015 3:20 pm
Location: Rift User

Re: Black screen in X-Plane (PLEASE READ)

Postby Tony » Wed Feb 15, 2017 12:04 pm

To start things off, I have a Founders edition Palit GTX1080 DDR5X

I had the hypoxia event in X-Plane 11 but since the temp fix with FI 1.73 this hasn't repeated. But I haven't done a flight for more than 20 minutes in a while.
Tony F
Customer Support = contact tony@flyinside-fsx.com
FlyInside Inc.
Tony
 
Posts: 4813
Joined: Sat May 30, 2015 3:20 pm
Location: Rift User

Re: Black screen in X-Plane (PLEASE READ)

Postby Stevil » Wed Feb 15, 2017 12:13 pm

Hi,

I got a Zotac GTX1070 Mini with 8GB GDDR5 and lately I have encountered the black screen bug very rarely. If so then it was directly at the start and not during a flight.

Best regards
Stephan
CPU Intel i7 4790K - GPU Zotac GTX 1080 Mini - RAM 16gb DDR3 Mobo Gigabyte GAMING 5 - Drive 750GB SSD - OS Win 10 x64 - Simulator X-Plane v11.11 RC1
HTC Vive
Stevil
 
Posts: 1010
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2016 2:48 pm
Location: EDDK, Cologne / Germany

Re: Black screen in X-Plane (PLEASE READ) Poll

Postby ryujin » Wed Feb 15, 2017 2:48 pm

Nvidia GTX 1080 EVGA Founders Edition 8GB 256-Bit GDDR5X.
Bkack scrren both in XP10 and XP11 after 30-50mins of flight.

Driver 378.49 WIndows 10 Home 64-bit
Last edited by ryujin on Wed Feb 15, 2017 10:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.
My Hardware:
i7 7700K 32GB RAM NVIDIA GTX 1080 - Oculus Rift

Image
ryujin
 
Posts: 107
Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2016 8:53 am

Re: Black screen in X-Plane (PLEASE READ) Poll

Postby 0814bobd » Wed Feb 15, 2017 4:35 pm

Hi,

I regularly encounter the black screen when flying the default 737-800 and the IXEG 737-300 for between 20-60 mins using the hardware/software below.

Really hoping you find a fix for this as I switched from FXSE a few months ago and much prefer XP.


Intel Processor i7-4790k
16GB HyperX FURY DUAL-DDR3 1600MHz
6GB NVIDIA GEFORCE GTX 980Ti (376.53)
ASUS® Z97-E Motherboard
120GB HyperX SAVAGE SSD

Windows 10.0 Pro (build 14393/2)
X-Plane 11.00pb11 (build 110017 64-bit)
FlyInside 1.73
SkyMaxx Pro 4

Cheers,

Bob
ASUS MAXIMUS IX, CPU i7-7700k, 32GB-DDR4, NVIDIA GTX1080Ti, SAMSUNG PM961 M.2, Oculus Rift CV1, Win10 Pro, X-Plane 11.10r3 FlyInside 1.9
0814bobd
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2016 3:20 pm

Re: Black screen in X-Plane (PLEASE READ) Poll

Postby Astro » Wed Feb 15, 2017 4:36 pm

I did some testing this afternoon.
I started out with the 3840 resolution and 4xSaa, flying the IEXG737, I was getting about 40/90 fps, GPU usage is about 70 percent in MSI Afterburner.
A few minutes into the flight I´suddenly lost the scenery, and a few seconds later the cockpit textures, the gauges are still there fps went down to about 5, and the GPU usage in Afterburner to 20 percent.
I thought I would see som peak that indicates some kind ov overloading but there isn´t, wether GPU,CPU,VRAM or RAM show any peaks.
Without closing the sim I turned off antialiasing in XP and everything went back to normal, I went up to 2xSaa+Fxaa and continued the flight,after a few minutes the whole screen went kind of white,
in fact it was a texture I was seeing not just plain white, it had structure.
I set AA to none, and right after that back to 2xSaa+Fxaa and continued the rest of the 1 hour flight without anomalies.
This was all in the same session without switching XP off, and without signs off high GPU or CPU usage.
I think I mentioned that before, when I´m using Xenviro the clouds are still rendered when that black screen happens.
I7 6700K 4.2 GHZ-16GB RAM-Titan X Pascal-Win 10-CV1
Astro
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2016 6:53 pm

Re: Black screen in X-Plane (PLEASE READ) Poll

Postby Astro » Wed Feb 15, 2017 6:50 pm

One thing I noticed just now is that the VRAM usage is excessivly high, I´m starting the flight with about 6GB VRAM, XP11 shows 1.3GB with texture quality st to medium,
after a few minutes into the flight Afterburner and also GPU-Z show 11.6GB VRAM usage, although I didnt have a blackscreen this time.
I7 6700K 4.2 GHZ-16GB RAM-Titan X Pascal-Win 10-CV1
Astro
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2016 6:53 pm

Re: Black screen in X-Plane (PLEASE READ) Poll

Postby Blakeman » Thu Feb 16, 2017 2:26 am

Happening in both XP10 and 11 about 20 mins into a flight. Asus Strix GTX1080 - 8GB GDDR5X
- Specs -
HMD: HTC Vive
GPU: Nvidia GTX 1080
CPU: Intel i7 5820k (hexacore)
Mobo: MSI X99S SLI Plus
Blakeman
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2016 11:25 am

Re: Black screen in X-Plane (PLEASE READ) Poll

Postby gcbraun » Thu Feb 16, 2017 4:09 pm

I have a GTX1070 with 8GB GDDR5 and the black screen happens almost in every flight after 20 min when HDR is on both on XP10 and 11.

HDR off kills the bug, but generates other problems.

That is a different thing than hypoxia, which can be fixed using DATAREFs.
Intel 4790k @ 4.7Ghz - GTX 1080 Ti 11gb - 32Gb RAM - 2tb SSD
Windows 10 - Oculus Rift CV1 (Flyinside)
Prepar3D v3.4 / X-Plane 11
gcbraun
 
Posts: 90
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2017 4:22 pm

Re: Black screen in X-Plane (PLEASE READ) Poll

Postby Cmarad1983 » Thu Feb 16, 2017 6:56 pm

Astro wrote:I did some testing this afternoon.
I started out with the 3840 resolution and 4xSaa, flying the IEXG737, I was getting about 40/90 fps, GPU usage is about 70 percent in MSI Afterburner.
A few minutes into the flight I´suddenly lost the scenery, and a few seconds later the cockpit textures, the gauges are still there fps went down to about 5, and the GPU usage in Afterburner to 20 percent.
I thought I would see som peak that indicates some kind ov overloading but there isn´t, wether GPU,CPU,VRAM or RAM show any peaks.
Without closing the sim I turned off antialiasing in XP and everything went back to normal, I went up to 2xSaa+Fxaa and continued the flight,after a few minutes the whole screen went kind of white,
in fact it was a texture I was seeing not just plain white, it had structure.
I set AA to none, and right after that back to 2xSaa+Fxaa and continued the rest of the 1 hour flight without anomalies.
This was all in the same session without switching XP off, and without signs off high GPU or CPU usage.
I think I mentioned that before, when I´m using Xenviro the clouds are still rendered when that black screen happens.



Hello, Astro
We have almost identical systems, how do you manage to do 3840 with HDR and 4xSaa? If I use 4xSaa, my sim is extremely laggy. Would you be so kind to post you settings for sim and FI? Also what area of the world have you flown with 40/90 and 4xsaa
Regards
Cmarad1983
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2017 7:08 am

Next

Return to XP11 Bug Reporting Here *Discontinued* 25th Jan 2019

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests