[Solved]Flyinside XP vs Oculus Client 1.17.0.4

Moderators: Tony, Sharkku

Re: Flyinside XP vs Oculus Client 1.17.0.4

Postby 3MonitorsToo » Wed Aug 16, 2017 8:45 pm

Similar problems here with the latest Oculus software update.
Stutters (long pauses) during flights make Flyinside and the Oculus Rift unusable for flying in X-Plane 10.
Before the software update I was using X-plane 10.52 with photoscenery at ZL18 over LOWI without problems,
now I can't even fly out of EDDT with minimal rendering settings in X-Plane without pauses.
It must have something to do with the Oculus software update, it ran fine while on 1.16.

The appropriate logs are attached.

Steven.
Attachments
X-Plane 10 Log.txt
(37.04 KiB) Downloaded 56 times
GPU-Z Sensor Log.txt
(82.05 KiB) Downloaded 52 times
Flyinside log.txt
(90.55 KiB) Downloaded 52 times
ASROCK Z97 Extreme6 - i7 4970K - 32Gb ram - GTX 980Ti - Windoze 7 pro - Nvidia driver 385.69
Oculus Rift CV1 + Touch controllers. Inateck KTU3FR-4P.
3MonitorsToo
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2017 9:43 am
Location: 1,500 ft and climbing.

Re: Flyinside XP vs Oculus Client 1.17.0.4

Postby 3MonitorsToo » Thu Aug 17, 2017 1:14 am

Just to add:

In task manager, X-system shown as "Not responding" during pause.
All four cores of the CPU are maxed out during the pause.

There's nothing recorded in the X-plane log to indicate a problem at the time of the pauses.

Steven.
ASROCK Z97 Extreme6 - i7 4970K - 32Gb ram - GTX 980Ti - Windoze 7 pro - Nvidia driver 385.69
Oculus Rift CV1 + Touch controllers. Inateck KTU3FR-4P.
3MonitorsToo
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2017 9:43 am
Location: 1,500 ft and climbing.

Re: Flyinside XP vs Oculus Client 1.17.0.4

Postby 3MonitorsToo » Fri Aug 18, 2017 1:22 am

Re pauses during flight:

I have managed to reduce the number of pauses during a flight by connecting the Oculus Rift headset to a USB2 port rather than a USB3 port,
but pauses still occur. Other thing to note is that GPU load drops to almost zero during the pause.

Steven.
ASROCK Z97 Extreme6 - i7 4970K - 32Gb ram - GTX 980Ti - Windoze 7 pro - Nvidia driver 385.69
Oculus Rift CV1 + Touch controllers. Inateck KTU3FR-4P.
3MonitorsToo
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2017 9:43 am
Location: 1,500 ft and climbing.

Re: Flyinside XP vs Oculus Client 1.17.0.4

Postby MRSHADO » Fri Aug 18, 2017 1:45 am

3MonitorsToo wrote:Re pauses during flight:

I have managed to reduce the number of pauses during a flight by connecting the Oculus Rift headset to a USB2 port rather than a USB3 port,
but pauses still occur. Other thing to note is that GPU load drops to almost zero during the pause.

Steven.


Thanks Steven - I'll give that a try right now, but I think my issue may be more severe. I do however really appreciate the advice and will let you know if that helps.
Cheers
CPU ASUS G752VS I7-6820HK RAM 32GB DDR4 Drive 1TB Samsung EVO 850 SSD OS Win 10 Pro. GPU GTX1070 8 GB GDDR5 (dvr: 388.13)
Oculus Rift/Touch CV-1
FlyInside 1.83/ XP11.10
MRSHADO
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Thu Jun 15, 2017 3:38 pm

Re: Flyinside XP vs Oculus Client 1.17.0.4

Postby 3MonitorsToo » Fri Aug 18, 2017 2:15 am

MRSHADO wrote:
3MonitorsToo wrote:Re pauses during flight:

I have managed to reduce the number of pauses during a flight by connecting the Oculus Rift headset to a USB2 port rather than a USB3 port,
but pauses still occur. Other thing to note is that GPU load drops to almost zero during the pause.

Steven.


Thanks Steven - I'll give that a try right now, but I think my issue may be more severe. I do however really appreciate the advice and will let you know if that helps.
Cheers

You are welcome.

Also note that I'm using X-Plane 10. My rendering settings in X-Plane, the Oculus tray tool and Flyinside are set to give me
about 45/90 to 52/90 FPS. I haven't tried to push my system harder with the current 1.17 Oculus release.

I picked up the relative info from this thread:
https://www.reddit.com/r/oculus/comment ... 17_update/

Hopefully the Flyinside chaps will find out the cause and offer a solution/fix.
I wish I could go back to 1.16, but it's gone.

Steven.
ASROCK Z97 Extreme6 - i7 4970K - 32Gb ram - GTX 980Ti - Windoze 7 pro - Nvidia driver 385.69
Oculus Rift CV1 + Touch controllers. Inateck KTU3FR-4P.
3MonitorsToo
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2017 9:43 am
Location: 1,500 ft and climbing.

Re: Flyinside XP vs Oculus Client 1.17.0.4

Postby MRSHADO » Fri Aug 18, 2017 1:24 pm

3MonitorsToo wrote:
MRSHADO wrote:
3MonitorsToo wrote:Re pauses during flight:

I have managed to reduce the number of pauses during a flight by connecting the Oculus Rift headset to a USB2 port rather than a USB3 port,
but pauses still occur. Other thing to note is that GPU load drops to almost zero during the pause.

Steven.


Thanks Steven - I'll give that a try right now, but I think my issue may be more severe. I do however really appreciate the advice and will let you know if that helps.
Cheers

You are welcome.

Also note that I'm using X-Plane 10. My rendering settings in X-Plane, the Oculus tray tool and Flyinside are set to give me
about 45/90 to 52/90 FPS. I haven't tried to push my system harder with the current 1.17 Oculus release.

I picked up the relative info from this thread:
https://www.reddit.com/r/oculus/comment ... 17_update/

Hopefully the Flyinside chaps will find out the cause and offer a solution/fix.
I wish I could go back to 1.16, but it's gone.

Steven.

Didn't work. Haha. Thanks for the thread, I gave it a good read and tried a few suggestions. I found another which calls for disconnecting HMD and Sensors then selecting FORGET THIS DEVICE in Oculus Client to restart their connections. After that, I think I will uninstall XP11 and wait for the native VR version. I happen to know it is NOT Flyinside (which is a great program) but this sort of PC scrutiny is why I left the FSX/P3D community months ago.

Thanks for the help!
Regards
CPU ASUS G752VS I7-6820HK RAM 32GB DDR4 Drive 1TB Samsung EVO 850 SSD OS Win 10 Pro. GPU GTX1070 8 GB GDDR5 (dvr: 388.13)
Oculus Rift/Touch CV-1
FlyInside 1.83/ XP11.10
MRSHADO
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Thu Jun 15, 2017 3:38 pm

Re: Flyinside XP vs Oculus Client 1.17.0.4

Postby 3MonitorsToo » Wed Sep 20, 2017 12:38 am

"Stutters (long pauses) during flights make Flyinside and the Oculus Rift unusable for flying in X-Plane 10."

Any news from the Flyinside developer on a fix for this?

Things I have tried to no avail:
Buying and installed the four port USB card as recommended by Oculus.
The two sensors and the headset have dedicated access to this card.
Using a single sensor instead of two.
Buying a PS2 mouse to replace the USB one.
Using default X-Plane scenery only, with no objects to draw, trees buildings, cars etc.
I no longer use the Oculus tray tool or the debug tool.
I have tried both the stable release of Oculus Home and the beta release.
I ran all tests from a clean reboot and starting Flyinisde without Oculus Home already running.
The Xbox controller and its USB adapter are removed as I never use the device.
The touch controllers have their batteries removed and placed in a separate room as I never use these with Flyinside.
All joysticks are connected to the motherboard USB 2 interfaces.
I never exceed the NVRAM limit of the GPU - monitored with GPUZ.
The GPU power consumption and GPU load never hit 100%, there is always plenty of headroom.
During a long pause the Flyinside interface will be displayed in the headset stating "waiting for simulator"
Frame rate depends on scenery, but I get a minimum of 40/90 and a maximum of 60/90.
All flying is done with CAVOK conditions.

An indication of some progress fixing this bug would be appreciated.

Steven.
ASROCK Z97 Extreme6 - i7 4970K - 32Gb ram - GTX 980Ti - Windoze 7 pro - Nvidia driver 385.69
Oculus Rift CV1 + Touch controllers. Inateck KTU3FR-4P.
3MonitorsToo
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2017 9:43 am
Location: 1,500 ft and climbing.

Re: Flyinside XP vs Oculus Client 1.17.0.4

Postby Muso-Ka » Wed Sep 20, 2017 4:25 am

Hi.
I'm not sure that we are talking about the same thing, but I also had "Stutters (long pauses)" and for a long time I did not know how to get rid of it. And the problem was in the video card. The HDMI output did not provide enough speed. I connected the Rift to the DVI output via the adapter and no longer have this problem.

Oleg.

Translated by Google.
I7 4930K 3,4 Ghz (4,4 Ghz), Asus Strix GTX 1080Ti OC 11Gb, RAM 32 Gb G Skill 2400, Win 10 64bit - Samsung SSD 850 Pro, Thrustmaster - HOTAS WARTHOG, Saitek - Combat Rudder Pedals, Switch Panel, Multi Panel, TPM System, Oculus Rift CV1+touch, Leap Motion.
Muso-Ka
 
Posts: 150
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2015 6:20 am
Location: Viana do Castelo, Portugal.

Re: Flyinside XP vs Oculus Client 1.17.0.4

Postby 3MonitorsToo » Wed Sep 20, 2017 9:04 am

Muso-Ka wrote:Hi.
I'm not sure that we are talking about the same thing, but I also had "Stutters (long pauses)" and for a long time I did not know how to get rid of it. And the problem was in the video card. The HDMI output did not provide enough speed. I connected the Rift to the DVI output via the adapter and no longer have this problem.

Oleg.

Translated by Google.


Thanks for the info, but I suspect that we are talking about something different.
The pauses I get can be in the order of seconds, the longest I got was ten seconds.

This has only been happening since the Oculus Home software was updated from 1.16 to 1.17

Steven.
ASROCK Z97 Extreme6 - i7 4970K - 32Gb ram - GTX 980Ti - Windoze 7 pro - Nvidia driver 385.69
Oculus Rift CV1 + Touch controllers. Inateck KTU3FR-4P.
3MonitorsToo
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2017 9:43 am
Location: 1,500 ft and climbing.

Re: Flyinside XP vs Oculus Client 1.17.0.4

Postby Tony » Wed Sep 20, 2017 5:11 pm

Have you tried the 1.18 beta of oculus home ? I'll pass this thread on again for you all.
Tony F
Customer Support = contact tony@flyinside-fsx.com
FlyInside Inc.
Tony
 
Posts: 4661
Joined: Sat May 30, 2015 3:20 pm
Location: Rift User

PreviousNext

Return to XP11 Bug Reporting Here *Discontinued* 25th Jan 2019

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron