Xplane Beta 8 issue

Moderators: Tony, Sharkku

Xplane Beta 8 issue

Postby Natman22 » Mon Nov 20, 2017 9:33 am

I will attach FI and Xplane logs this evening but in the meantime I was wondering if anyone else is having the same issue with beta 11.10 b8? After several minutes of flight FI seems to unexpectedly terminate, the oculus headset just goes dark but Xplane is still running on the desktop. I glanced at the Xplane log the first time this happened, which was right after updating to the beta 8, but didn’t notice anything that looked unusual. Actually, the first flight after the update resulted in the termination of both Xplane and FI/Oculus app after about five minutes of flight. The second flight lasted about 8 minutes before the crash but left Xplane still running on the desktop. This is happening on an Oculus rift/ windows 10 i7 4700 GTX 1070 with orthos. It could be a problem with the headset but the previous couple of betas seemed to work fine so I don’t think it’s a new hardware issue. I’ll be back with the logs later today either way.
Win 10 500G SSD/ i7 4790 @ 4ghz/32gig/ Zotac 1070 mini/Oculus Rift HMD/X-Plane 11.26/ 8Tb orthos
Natman22
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Jul 30, 2017 7:46 am

Re: Xplane Beta 8 issue

Postby Tony » Mon Nov 20, 2017 9:51 am

I know it's a pain but roll back the XP beta if issue persists and see if this fixes so we know.
Tony F
Customer Support = contact tony@flyinside-fsx.com
FlyInside Inc.
Tony
 
Posts: 4649
Joined: Sat May 30, 2015 3:20 pm
Location: Rift User

Re: Xplane Beta 8 issue

Postby Natman22 » Mon Nov 20, 2017 12:05 pm

Thanks Tony. I m not really sure how to go about rolling back to a previous Beta. I could uncheck the “ include betas” in the updater and revert back to last 11.10 release. It’s really not that big af a deal to do and would probably answer the software/hardware question. If there is a way to go to the previous beta I’d be happy to try that as well. I’ll try another flight tonight when I get home and include the logs if it crashes before I do a roll back so someone who knows what to look for can take a look just in case anyone else is having a similar problem.
Win 10 500G SSD/ i7 4790 @ 4ghz/32gig/ Zotac 1070 mini/Oculus Rift HMD/X-Plane 11.26/ 8Tb orthos
Natman22
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Jul 30, 2017 7:46 am

Re: Xplane Beta 8 issue

Postby Rift Flyer » Mon Nov 20, 2017 1:22 pm

You can’t roll back to a previous beta. You would have to go back to 11.05 to test. Run the updater and untick the beta checkbox.
System: Win 10 64bit | i7 7700k @ 5.1ghz | 32gb 3466mhz | Asus Strix 1080ti (388.59)| X-Plane 11.10R3 | FlyinsideXP 1.9
VR: Oculus Rift CV1 | Oculus Touch | Leap
Primary HID: Komodo Simulations cyclic, C-Tek anti torque pedals and collective
Rift Flyer
 
Posts: 217
Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2016 12:14 pm

Re: Xplane Beta 8 issue

Postby Natman22 » Mon Nov 20, 2017 10:05 pm

Log.txt
X-Plane
(101.15 KiB) Downloaded 61 times


log.txt
FI log
(182.26 KiB) Downloaded 56 times




Ok Here are the FI and XP log files for my last flight. I'll roll back to 11.05 to see if the problem persists. Thanks to anyone having the time to take a look.
Win 10 500G SSD/ i7 4790 @ 4ghz/32gig/ Zotac 1070 mini/Oculus Rift HMD/X-Plane 11.26/ 8Tb orthos
Natman22
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Jul 30, 2017 7:46 am

Re: Xplane Beta 8 issue

Postby Stevil » Tue Nov 21, 2017 4:58 am

Natman22 wrote:
Log.txt


log.txt




Ok Here are the FI and XP log files for my last flight. I'll roll back to 11.05 to see if the problem persists. Thanks to anyone having the time to take a look.


Hi Natman22,

your log file is really strange. FlyInside quits after loosing connection to your HMD. Can you please give us more details (for example see here viewtopic.php?f=44&t=6131 )

I am also wondering if your path has any influence on that. From the log your XP11 is located in "'I:\X-Plane 11/X-Plane 11/" ? Maybe something got confused because of that? Maybe worth a try to setup a new instance of XP11 on your Desktop or something like that.

BR
Stephan
CPU Intel i7 4790K - GPU Zotac GTX 1080 Mini - RAM 16gb DDR3 Mobo Gigabyte GAMING 5 - Drive 750GB SSD - OS Win 10 x64 - Simulator X-Plane v11.11 RC1
HTC Vive
Stevil
 
Posts: 1010
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2016 2:48 pm
Location: EDDK, Cologne / Germany

Re: Xplane Beta 8 issue

Postby Rift Flyer » Tue Nov 21, 2017 5:01 am

Have you overclocked your 1070? It sounds like a display driver crash to me. If the driver restarts then you will loose the hmd as is reported in the FI log.
System: Win 10 64bit | i7 7700k @ 5.1ghz | 32gb 3466mhz | Asus Strix 1080ti (388.59)| X-Plane 11.10R3 | FlyinsideXP 1.9
VR: Oculus Rift CV1 | Oculus Touch | Leap
Primary HID: Komodo Simulations cyclic, C-Tek anti torque pedals and collective
Rift Flyer
 
Posts: 217
Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2016 12:14 pm

Re: Xplane Beta 8 issue

Postby Stevil » Tue Nov 21, 2017 5:05 am

Good point also, Rift Flyer!
We need more information about your setup and what programs/plugins you are running. Always test if a bug appears with a vanilla installation also.
CPU Intel i7 4790K - GPU Zotac GTX 1080 Mini - RAM 16gb DDR3 Mobo Gigabyte GAMING 5 - Drive 750GB SSD - OS Win 10 x64 - Simulator X-Plane v11.11 RC1
HTC Vive
Stevil
 
Posts: 1010
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2016 2:48 pm
Location: EDDK, Cologne / Germany

Re: Xplane Beta 8 issue

Postby Natman22 » Tue Nov 21, 2017 11:49 am

Thanks Stevil and Riftflyer. I think I might have found the problem but I won’t know until I have a chance to do another flight this evening. The HMD disconnect might have been what was instigating the crash and might have been due to an outdated USB hub driver. I noticed the Oculus headset suddenly woke up and the Oculus app reappeared on the desktop once the driver was updated. It might be totally unrelated but also noticed my nvidia driver had updated without me knowing the day before I updated to XP b8. The 1070 is not overclocked and my Xplane installation path has never been an issue before so I doubt that is a contributing factor. I haven’t seen anyone else report this issue with XPb8 though so that makes me think the issue is something unique to my rig. I’ll try another flight this pm and report.
Win 10 500G SSD/ i7 4790 @ 4ghz/32gig/ Zotac 1070 mini/Oculus Rift HMD/X-Plane 11.26/ 8Tb orthos
Natman22
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Jul 30, 2017 7:46 am

Re: Xplane Beta 8 issue

Postby Stevil » Tue Nov 21, 2017 12:30 pm

Thanks for your feedback. We’re crossing fingers that you are sorted now hopefully
CPU Intel i7 4790K - GPU Zotac GTX 1080 Mini - RAM 16gb DDR3 Mobo Gigabyte GAMING 5 - Drive 750GB SSD - OS Win 10 x64 - Simulator X-Plane v11.11 RC1
HTC Vive
Stevil
 
Posts: 1010
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2016 2:48 pm
Location: EDDK, Cologne / Germany

Next

Return to XP11 Bug Reporting Here *Discontinued* 25th Jan 2019

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest