Helicopter physics discussion

Moderators: Tony, admin

Helicopter physics discussion

Postby John Hargreaves » Sat Oct 13, 2018 9:32 am

I would love this sim to be a success, and it's great to see three good helicopters available on day one. MilViz have done some fine work and it's nice to see them involved.
I realise it's still very early days, but I wonder what the devs point of view regarding helicopter physics will be? In this early implementation, it feels more like FSX than XP11/DCS; I'm not feeling the hovering in ground effect or effective translational lift yet for example. The helicopter sim sub genre is small but very passionate, and there is a tremendous amount of expertise and feedback available out there to help get the physics up there with the best. I'm no expert, but there are definitely many who are and would contribute I'm sure.
I took the liberty of emailing Sergio at Helisimmer.com about FFS, and I'm sure if he gives it some exposure it will become more widely known among the community.
The VR base of FFS is so good, and helicopters really are the best way to appreciate the scenery, so you guys could have a real winner on your hands. Maybe if you could build up the helicopter physics to the level of the best in the business that would help to give you a selling point to distinguish it from some of the competition.
i7-7700K/MSI RTX 3080/Win10 64bit/64Gb RAM/Asus Xonar DX+Beyer Dynamic DT990 Pro headphones/LG 34" UM65 @2560x1080/TM Warthog+VKB MkIV Rudder pedals/OE-XAM R22 collective/Reverb G2
John Hargreaves

Re: Helicopter physics discussion

Postby admin » Sat Oct 13, 2018 9:45 am

Yes, the current heli flight-model is "bare-bones" for sure ;) We currently have a "Heli Flightmodel 2.0" under development with:
-ETL
-VRS
-Ground Effect
-Translational Lift
-Torque Limitations
-Auto-rotation support

It's in the works for sure, but we didn't want to hold up launch on it :)

Thanks,
Dan
Your friendly neighborhood developer!