Newb Question

Moderators: Tony, admin

Newb Question

Postby biffbutkus » Wed Jan 23, 2019 3:02 pm

Hello All,

I'm completely new to FlyInside (and it looks like a very interesting product) so my apologies for asking the very basic question below. I did try to find an answer by looking at the website and browsing the forums but I'm still confused about this product...

Is FlyInside Flight Simulator a completely stand-alone product, or does it require another product like Prepar3d or FSX in order to work?

Thanks in advance for any help!

Biff
biffbutkus

Re: Newb Question

Postby sunjunkiesi » Wed Jan 23, 2019 3:40 pm

Flyinside Flight Simulator stands alone.

Flyinside also make products for X-plane, FSX and P3D that allow those applications to become VR compatible (though it must be said that x-plane is probably already more vr compatible than most without flyinside).

The Flyinside Flight Simulator is in early access and is by no means a finished product, however the devs are very active and open to constructive criticism.
sunjunkiesi

Postby biffbutkus » Thu Jan 24, 2019 6:25 am

Thank you Sunjunkiesi!

I thought it was standalone, but then I read something elsewhere that made me unsure.

Any idea of how (or if) users can develop their own aircraft models? It's not really clear to me at this point what this will look like . I'm coming from the world of JSBSim/Flightgear where it's simply a matter of editing an XML file to create a new aircraft model.

Cheers!
Biff
biffbutkus

Postby sunjunkiesi » Thu Jan 24, 2019 8:03 am

I believe there is an SDK either on the horizon or already published. I don't think it will be as easy as you are used to though, probably more in line with the current p3d model making system. Most of the aircraft are ports from a p3d model. I'm no expert, but from the feel of the flight model it is more of a table lookup flight model than simulated airflow. I'm likely wrong though, I often am...
sunjunkiesi