Getting CV1 and PC ready ?

A place for VR pilots to rest and post screenshots and videos and chat about anything.

Moderators: Tony, Sharkku

Getting CV1 and PC ready ?

Postby Tony » Mon Jan 25, 2016 6:58 pm

OK so Oculus say my FX9370 AMD CPU is no good and below sys specs for CV1. I'm already 529 pounds down from May.

What would people recommend I do ? I have a Formula Z motherboard and 16gb of cheapy RAM with the CPU and a GTX980 GPU at the mo.

Looks like Intel is the way to go ?

Any ideas on a cheapish way forward guys ?

That would include a new mobo, RAM and CPU I suppose ?

Tony
Tony F
Customer Support = contact tony@flyinside-fsx.com
FlyInside Inc.
Tony
 
Posts: 4694
Joined: Sat May 30, 2015 3:20 pm
Location: Rift User

Re: Getting CV1 and PC ready ?

Postby Markeebo » Mon Jan 25, 2016 8:16 pm

I wouldn't lend a whole lot of credence to that app just yet. Your specs arent that bad IMHO.

Don't know the base clock on your CPU, but if it's OCed, the app will likely not pick that up and report base clock speeds. The 980 is a good GPU. RAM prolly isn't a factor either.

If things go right, we could see VR-SLI and improved performance in the future. I just can't see the GPU manufacturers out there not seeing a market demographic that can't or won't throw $1200US at the latest Titan or beyond. They must see that SLI can vastly increase downstream sales on more reasonably priced GPUs.

I sure hope I'm correct. Anyway.....my two cents at least

Markeebo
Markeebo
 
Posts: 134
Joined: Sat May 23, 2015 2:53 pm

Re: Getting CV1 and PC ready ?

Postby admin » Mon Jan 25, 2016 8:20 pm

If money's the concern (and FlyInside's your priority) I'd say hold off on upgrading. There's a good chance you'll be all set or can just turn down settings a little bit, and worse comes to worse you can upgrade later :)
Your friendly neighborhood developer!
Contact Me: dan@flyinside-fsx.com
admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2709
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 8:36 am

Re: Getting CV1 and PC ready ?

Postby exploremore » Wed Jan 27, 2016 5:22 am

With new technology prices start high
The 16Gb of DDR4 I got a year ago cost €388 and today is only €130
Perhaps wait till CV1 comes out and see the feedback after some weeks
Just as with the improvements with FlyInside v1.2 maybe you can take the hardware upgrades a bit slower
P3D v3.4 & 4 | FlyInside 1.8 | Oculus CV1 | ASRock X99 | Intel i7 | 32Gb RAM | 1Tb SSD | Titan X | Windows 10 | Saitek X52 | Many OrbX items
exploremore
 
Posts: 113
Joined: Sat Nov 28, 2015 10:42 am
Location: Germany

Re: Getting CV1 and PC ready ?

Postby exploremore » Thu Feb 04, 2016 4:21 am

Another week goes by and I managed to get my extra 16Gb RAM for another €10 less
Elite Dangerous now recommends minimum 16Gb RAM while using VR
exploremore
 
Posts: 113
Joined: Sat Nov 28, 2015 10:42 am
Location: Germany

Re: Getting CV1 and PC ready ?

Postby Tony » Thu Feb 04, 2016 1:12 pm

Ok with trepidation I've decided to raise the cash for my cv1 and sell my DK2 :( if any UK member is interested I'm asking about 300 quid for it in great condition. Also looking at an Intel cpu and mobo as I think this'll be the way to go.

Tony
Tony F
Customer Support = contact tony@flyinside-fsx.com
FlyInside Inc.
Tony
 
Posts: 4694
Joined: Sat May 30, 2015 3:20 pm
Location: Rift User

Re: Getting CV1 and PC ready ?

Postby Derek Speare » Thu Feb 04, 2016 6:00 pm

So far I am piecing together a new system based around the i7-5820 CPU and GTX980ti video card. I have an Asus X99 MB, case, 3gb platter HD, Samsung Evo 850 1tb SSD and some other miscellaneous bits so far. I still need the CPU, PSU (Corsair HX850), Video (MSI GTX980ti) and memory (32gb Corsair DDR4) to finish it off. I have till May.

I'm not convinced that a GTX780 won't be sufficient to run the new Oculus. I think they cranked up their system specs to cover their butt. I'm planning to hook up my CV1 to my existing PC to see if it will go. I'm thinking it will. However, the best way to go at this point is to get the most capable system you can, Tony. There are even new things on the horizon coming later this year by way of CPU and (allegedly) GPU options.
Derek "BoxxMann" Speare - An old "sim head"
System: i7-5930k | GTX980ti | Evo850 1tb | 32g ram | 2-DSD Button Boxes | Latest OH | CH Sticks | Win10 Pro | FSX:SE | P3D2.5/3 | XP v10/v11 | Leap Orion | CV1/WMR/DK2


http://www.derekspearedesigns.com
Derek Speare
 
Posts: 483
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2015 4:38 pm
Location: BoxxTown USA!

Re: Getting CV1 and PC ready ?

Postby TonyG » Thu Feb 04, 2016 8:58 pm

I just assembled a 6700k on a Asus Hero board to go with the 980Ti I bought. I'm awaiting my new SSD to install win7 on, and I'll be up and running. Can't wait to see what that runs the rift like.

I'm going to OC the 6700 and beat that thing like a rented mule. I've got a NH-D15 on top of it to keep it cool.
i5 6700k @ 4.5 Ghz | Asus Hero RoG | 16GB RAM | Nvidia 980ti Asus Strix (364) | 500GB SSD for FSX:SE/P3Dv2.5 and iRacing | OR Runtime 1.3 | FSXFI 1.5PRO | Win7 64bit | X-52 HOTAS & CH Pedals |

....oh...and a CV1 :)
TonyG
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2016 2:08 am

Re: Getting CV1 and PC ready ?

Postby Tony » Fri Feb 05, 2016 7:56 am

Bit confused (don't take a lot) do I get a 1150 mobo or a 1151 mobo for an I7-4790k? Advice please chaps :)

Tony
Tony F
Customer Support = contact tony@flyinside-fsx.com
FlyInside Inc.
Tony
 
Posts: 4694
Joined: Sat May 30, 2015 3:20 pm
Location: Rift User

Re: Getting CV1 and PC ready ?

Postby MK84 » Fri Feb 05, 2016 8:10 am

1150 for i7-4790k.
Oculus Rift - HTC Vive - FSX SE - Prepar3D - X-Plane 11 - Windows 10 Pro - Intel i7-4790K - NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 - TM HOTAS Warthog - MFG Crosswind - Pro Flight Trainer PUMA
MK84
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2015 11:16 am

Next

Return to The Lounge

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron