Unable to start the engine of default Cessna

Moderators: Tony, Sharkku

Unable to start the engine of default Cessna

Postby JensAndersen » Sat Oct 07, 2017 3:45 am

Still a FlyInsideXP newbie - I'm having problems starting the engine of the default Cessna in X-Plane 11.05:

  • Setting up everything from Cold and Dark
  • Pressing the Starter using the mouse in a normal Windows window, holding it in to keep the motor running - voila, engine starts
  • However, from inside the HDM, using the InteractionButton (IB), looking at the Starter and pressing the IB and keeping it pressed, the engine won't start. It triggers, but immediately ceases, as if you press and release the button continuously rather than keeping the button pressed until released.
This surely can't be the first time someone experiences this, so I suspect there is a config of some sort defining how press and hiold the IB should behave, but I haven't found it...

Please help :shock: ;)
CPU: Intel i7 5820K 32GB 3.8GHz - GPU: MSI GTX 1080 8GB - OS: Win 10 x64 - Simulator: X-Plane v11.05 - VR: Oculus Rift+Touch
JensAndersen
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2017 9:18 am

Re: Unable to start the engine of default Cessna

Postby Stevil » Sat Oct 07, 2017 7:34 am

Hi Jens,

I still use the mouse for that reason.
CPU Intel i7 4790K - GPU Zotac GTX 1080 Mini - RAM 16gb DDR3 Mobo Gigabyte GAMING 5 - Drive 750GB SSD - OS Win 10 x64 - Simulator X-Plane v11.11 RC1
HTC Vive
Stevil
 
Posts: 1010
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2016 2:48 pm
Location: EDDK, Cologne / Germany

Re: Unable to start the engine of default Cessna

Postby JensAndersen » Sat Oct 07, 2017 6:13 pm

So, are you saying there is no fix - currently? Anyone looking into it? Any comments from the developers?
CPU: Intel i7 5820K 32GB 3.8GHz - GPU: MSI GTX 1080 8GB - OS: Win 10 x64 - Simulator: X-Plane v11.05 - VR: Oculus Rift+Touch
JensAndersen
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2017 9:18 am

Re: Unable to start the engine of default Cessna

Postby Stevil » Mon Oct 09, 2017 4:09 am

JensAndersen wrote:So, are you saying there is no fix - currently? Anyone looking into it? Any comments from the developers?


I will try it out by myself and give you some feedback, Jens.

I talked to the devs about that once and I was being told that every airplane behaves different in terms of knobs, switches and buttons. When I remember correct X-Plane 11 will soon give those planemakers better ways to mark those knobs, switches and buttons so chances are good that we will see some improvements here.

I always have my keyboard and mouse next to me and my joystick during flying. For me it's the easiest way for controlling.

BR
Stephan
CPU Intel i7 4790K - GPU Zotac GTX 1080 Mini - RAM 16gb DDR3 Mobo Gigabyte GAMING 5 - Drive 750GB SSD - OS Win 10 x64 - Simulator X-Plane v11.11 RC1
HTC Vive
Stevil
 
Posts: 1010
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2016 2:48 pm
Location: EDDK, Cologne / Germany


Return to XP11 Bug Reporting Here *Discontinued* 25th Jan 2019

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests