SSAA vs MSAA

Moderators: Tony, Greyman, fenflame, Sharkku, Stevil, Bruce_C

SSAA vs MSAA

Postby ChrisK » Mon Jan 08, 2018 7:20 am

Could someone explain to me, why i cant using SSAA with Flyinside :?:
Flyinside will set it to MSAA and do not run withh SSAA ..... BUT if i set it from 4MSAA to 4SSAA from inside the runnning sim (with Flyinside) everything works fine and the shimmering with P3Dv4 and FIV1.9 ist totally gone :o
I am a bit confused .....
Chris
ChrisK
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Jul 20, 2017 4:35 am

Re: SSAA vs MSAA

Postby FlyingMonkey » Wed Feb 07, 2018 10:41 pm

Shimmering remains my main issue with FI for P3D v4, so I think I'll give a go and test what you've done on my rig. My guess would be that SSAA was disabled either because of performance issues (have you tried it on with more demanding addons?) or visual artefacts and glitches. But like you I'd like to know why to better understand whether it be a good fix to enable it in some situations.
FlyingMonkey
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Thu May 21, 2015 3:58 am

Re: SSAA vs MSAA

Postby ChrisK » Thu Feb 08, 2018 3:33 am

Hi FlyingMonkey,
it may be that it is a performance issue, but on my rig with a Nvidia GTX980ti i found no glitches. When i am flying with the FSL Airbus (which is a heavy Load for the P3D engine) my GPU Load is round about 45% with 2SSAA and 55% with 4SSAA (flying in Europe with FTX Landclass EU and Vector). With 4SSAA the GPU reaches 99% in some Areas (dont know exactly what is the cause) but then goes back to 50%.
So its really interesting for me why SSAA wil be denied by FI ...
Chris
ChrisK
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Jul 20, 2017 4:35 am

Re: SSAA vs MSAA

Postby FlyingMonkey » Thu Feb 08, 2018 3:50 am

OK, I've found the explanation in old release notes (this was from a 1.8 beta, but since then those changes must have made it into 1.9):

Improvements:

Auto-disables SSAA, which causes major performance issues without benefit


Now if SSAA actually fixes the bad shimmering, then I disagree with the "without benefit" assessment that Dan made back then. I'll test putting back SSAA on as you did ChrisK and if it does solve my issues with shimmering I would then try to contact Dan (or Tony could you bring Dan's attention to this topic?) so that we can choose to have SSAA from within the FI GUI instead of having this hardcoded auto-disable
FlyingMonkey
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Thu May 21, 2015 3:58 am

Re: SSAA vs MSAA

Postby Tony » Thu Feb 08, 2018 5:03 am

Interesting!!! I will point him in this direction guys.
Tony F
Customer Support = contact tony@flyinside-fsx.com
FlyInside Inc.
Tony
 
Posts: 4338
Joined: Sat May 30, 2015 3:20 pm
Location: Rift User

Re: SSAA vs MSAA

Postby FlyingMonkey » Thu Feb 08, 2018 8:07 pm

Thanks Tony!
FlyingMonkey
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Thu May 21, 2015 3:58 am

Re: SSAA vs MSAA

Postby Goromo » Fri Feb 09, 2018 8:24 am

Hi there,

I don't understand this either, I run with 2xSSAA all the time now (although I have to remember to go back to an MSAA setting before shutting FI down, or FI wont start next time I try to load it) I find this (almost) completely cures the terrible shimmering I get with P3D ver 4.
4XSSAA would be better, and I do use this with A2A but I usually fly with PMDG stuff, and I find the performance hit to be to high with them, so I stick with 2XSSAA.
I dont have any problems using SSAA and think it would help if this option was put into the FI settings option. Maybe the fact that it does work OK when selected inside the sim could be posted as a sticky, just to help some new users who may be confused about using it.

Best wishes.
System: i7 7700k, @ 5.0ghz, 32gb RAM, GTX 1080, Samsung 960 EVO NVME 500 GB x2, 2TB HDD,Win 10 64 bit
GoFlight Yoke, Saitek TQ, MFG Rudder Pedals, several Goflight modules. Home Cockpit.
VR: Oculus Rift CV1..
SIM: P3D version 4.1
Goromo
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Dec 18, 2016 7:29 am

Re: SSAA vs MSAA

Postby ChrisK » Sat Feb 17, 2018 11:08 am

I've now checked the actual P3D v4_Academic_4.2.21.24048 Version.
At my Test Airport (only default Buildings and default plane but some Light Poles with dynamic Lighting) i will get:
110 FPS with 2SSAA and 110 FPS with 4MSAA on daytime, so this is nothing bad .... BUT
when its going Dusk/Dawn or Night and dynamic Lighting comes in
FPS drop to 22 FPS with 2SSAA and 34 FPS with 4MSAA.
So the bottleneck is dynamic Lighting and theres some work left for LM.
Regards
ChrisK
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Jul 20, 2017 4:35 am

Re: SSAA vs MSAA

Postby FlyingMonkey » Tue Feb 20, 2018 7:53 pm

Yes, dynamic lighting is a known issue - in fact I thought it was turned off by FlyInside too, or at least the recommendation was to have it turned off (but that's just from memory). Meanwhile I haven't even had the time to test any of this - 3 months of baby going back to sleeping by bouts of 1h, sometimes waking up every 5-10 minutes for hours in the middle of the night... Needless to say flight sims are out, I'm just in survival mode and lucky if I can have the energy for 15-30 min of entertainment...
FlyingMonkey
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Thu May 21, 2015 3:58 am

Re: SSAA vs MSAA

Postby joepoway » Sun Mar 11, 2018 12:01 pm

Is there a way to disable the SSAA check with a FlyInside.ini file modification or a different file?

I make several modifications to P3D cfg files and cameras.cfg files to optimize things to my tastes. So there should be an entry somewhere that checks for SSAA being enabled in the last run P3D settings that we could just eliminate.

Any ideas?
Joe
i5-2500k @ 4.5Ghz; GTX 1070 G1;32Gb ram; 2 SSD's; Win 10 Pro 64; P3Dv4.2;XP 11;DCS;Aerofly FS 2; All FlyInside Products; Active Sky;SPAD.next;VoiceAttack;Little NavMap;Dynamic FFTF;Process Lasso; 40in 4K TV w/ Native 30 Hz; Oculus Rift CV1; Avid VR user
joepoway
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2016 5:24 pm

Next

Return to General forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest