GTN 750 Flight One Integration

Moderators: Tony, Greyman, fenflame, Sharkku, Stevil, Bruce_C

Re: GTN 750 Flight One Integration

Postby RCFlyer » Tue Jan 02, 2018 11:02 am

Man, your experience is tough. I use P3DV4.1, Reality GTN 750, and the current version of FI. I use the mouse (dot) interaction process to interact with the GTN 750 with no problem. I am also using the most current, updated, version of Windows 10. I can also use the mouse itself to interact with the GTN 750 with no issues. I say this not to add to your frustration, but, to let you know it is possible to get thing to work consistently.

Good luck and best regards,

Danny
RCFlyer
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2016 11:17 am

Re: GTN 750 Flight One Integration

Postby BG2518 » Thu Jan 04, 2018 1:14 pm

I have some progress......

The 6% Terrain Loading hang (25 minutes) was caused by something within FTX Freeware Airports.

Through a LONG and EXTENSIVE process of elimination via a scenery config editor I found this to be that issue.

That's fixed so load up is now no more that 3 mins which makes trying to tweak/fix other things that much easier.

Now, the MOUSE cursor issue.....

I have found that I CAN see the mouse IF the actual screen mouse is within the "small" resized FI window. I run in 4K and you can imagine how small that window is.

Thus the movement of the mouse within that window is quite extreme and exaggerated.

It is too tortuous to use like that and doesn't operate like that in plain old P3D.

I HAVE asked WHY FI need to have a re-sized and small window and got NO answer.

The mouse does work in terms of operational clicks with the GTN 750 but does NOT pan the map i.e. left click and hold and drag for map panning.

When I say these things work, I mean to say that they do but in a very unsatisfactory and unusable way by comparison to plain old P3D.

I can possibly imagine the mouse working a tad better in an overall lower screen resolution where the FI window is larger by proportion to the main screen BUT I don't work like that and 4K is here NOW and FI should accommodate that.

Other points:

I'm finding that the resolution within the Rift using FI has been reduced for no apparent reason and is inferior to plain old P3D ??

Windows within the Rift of other apps are pretty much useless to immersion of a real world flight and getting anything to function is a complete chore and rarely seems to work.

The number of binding options for all sorts of things is perplexing and there seems to be no clear guidance on that and or the benefits or uses of them by description of video tutorial links.

After all the effort of getting to this point I'm still cold to luke warm about FI as it is now and I'm 100% trying to get with the program (so to speak).

Cheers.
BG2518-Bob
Win10-64, i7-970(6 core)@3.2GHZ, 32GB DDR3@2133MHz, ASUS GTX1080 STRIXOC, 1 Samsung 48” 4k Monitor, Oculus CV1, Hotas Warthog Joystick and Throttle
BG2518
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 9:55 am

Re: GTN 750 Flight One Integration

Postby BG2518 » Fri Feb 16, 2018 4:41 am

FYI

The 25 mins load up time (hanging on 6%) was caused by a windows update (probably some time back) that somehow re-activated Acronis "Active Protection" (ransomware constant checks against ALL files in/out of memory).

So no more mad load up times - FIXED.

However, LM released v4.2 and Flight1 GTN 750 gauges no longer work and Flight1 won't tell when they will be making any updates to attend to that.

The single pass stereo mode in P3D v4.2 seems to do all that I want and I see no reason to use FI anymore.

I suspect FI also is likely "not to work" again with v4.2 like all the rest of the 3rd party apps.

I just want to fly is all.

Best of luck FI - you'll need it.
BG2518-Bob
Win10-64, i7-970(6 core)@3.2GHZ, 32GB DDR3@2133MHz, ASUS GTX1080 STRIXOC, 1 Samsung 48” 4k Monitor, Oculus CV1, Hotas Warthog Joystick and Throttle
BG2518
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 9:55 am

Re: GTN 750 Flight One Integration

Postby fenflame » Fri Feb 16, 2018 4:53 pm

BG2518 wrote:FYI

The 25 mins load up time (hanging on 6%) was caused by a windows update (probably some time back) that somehow re-activated Acronis "Active Protection" (ransomware constant checks against ALL files in/out of memory).

So no more mad load up times - FIXED.

However, LM released v4.2 and Flight1 GTN 750 gauges no longer work and Flight1 won't tell when they will be making any updates to attend to that.

The single pass stereo mode in P3D v4.2 seems to do all that I want and I see no reason to use FI anymore.

I suspect FI also is likely "not to work" again with v4.2 like all the rest of the 3rd party apps.

I just want to fly is all.

Best of luck FI - you'll need it.


FI actually works excellent with V4.2 with higher framerates than native and higher visual clarity. GTN750 functionality issues in a version of P3D only released a few days ago has zero to do with FI and not really relevant. People have been polite and tried to help you, but honestly your frustration comes across as attitude to me and that doesn't really inspire people to want to help you. Did you contact Dan the developer with your issues. He is very helpful and very responsive.
There are many people using FI with P3D and have been for a long time. There has been some issues along the way, most are ironed out in beta stages however. This is new technology being integrated with what is old software basically. It is nice to see LM have finally moved forward and ironed out some of the fundamental VR bugs that FI has had to work around (and reasonably successfully I might add). For me personally the latest FI version is the best so far. Its impossible to develop a piece of software that you can guarantee will work with every possible combination of hardware/software combinations people have. Add the internet and people in to that mix and it becomes even more difficult. As far as the GTN issues goes, I use it to, but I'll wait patiently until they test and patch the version checking tool or however they do it.. This happens with something almost every time a new P3D arrives on the scene. People tend to down load ithe latest P3D version without even checking first the state of compatibility with their addons and then gripe because something doesn't work the same day.
Some developer like F1 and FI add in version checking routines in their addons to avoid potential major issues on a new sim version. They typically have early access to updates from LM, but not all the time and even if they do last minute changes can occur in the latest released version of P3D with potential conflicts and impacts. THe developers then have to test their addons with the released version after its release. Otherwise support could become inundated. There's a very high probability that GTN (and probably FI before the new version was released) worked fine with V4.2, but the version check routines need to be updated once they have proven that to themselves. Its a fundamental software development process.
Personally I haven't needed luck, I've had many hours of great flying over the past 2 years with FI across various versions of P3D. The biggest issues I've had when I've had them have been associated with Nvidia drivers and Oculus software updates. Again, things not even in the realm of control by the developers of FI.
Win10-64, i7-4790K OC to 4.7GHZ, 16GB DDR3, EVGA GTX1070 8GB OC, 1 Monitor , CV1, Saitek Rudder Pedals, CH Eclipse Yoke, P3DV4
FI P3DV4 Beta Tester.
fenflame
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2016 10:42 pm
Location: A Brit who lives in Salem NH, USA

Re: GTN 750 Flight One Integration

Postby BG2518 » Mon Feb 26, 2018 5:47 am

fenflame

You've spent a long time posting a great summary which is really good. I really appreciate your points - ALL of them! I take it all on board.

Its too easy to read the wrong things into what is written.

I wish "everyone" all the best.
BG2518-Bob
Win10-64, i7-970(6 core)@3.2GHZ, 32GB DDR3@2133MHz, ASUS GTX1080 STRIXOC, 1 Samsung 48” 4k Monitor, Oculus CV1, Hotas Warthog Joystick and Throttle
BG2518
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 9:55 am

Re: GTN 750 Flight One Integration

Postby fenflame » Mon Feb 26, 2018 10:20 pm

BG2518 wrote:fenflame

You've spent a long time posting a great summary which is really good. I really appreciate your points - ALL of them! I take it all on board.

Its too easy to read the wrong things into what is written.

I wish "everyone" all the best.


The ironic thing was F1 actually released a compatible version of GTN the very next day after I wrote that. I use it myself with no issues, except initially with the typical exceeding the number of downloads, having to reset it, check emails , click on links, forget passwords, have to reset it to something I'll never remember again, rinse and repeat and then after 5 failed attempts , 40 mins and repeated strings of expletive phrases uttered at the screen I finally got the product landing on my desktop.

Have you got it all up and running now ? I can't help you with getting it from flight 1....lol......but if you have integration issues, I may be able to help or at least make suggestions.
Win10-64, i7-4790K OC to 4.7GHZ, 16GB DDR3, EVGA GTX1070 8GB OC, 1 Monitor , CV1, Saitek Rudder Pedals, CH Eclipse Yoke, P3DV4
FI P3DV4 Beta Tester.
fenflame
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2016 10:42 pm
Location: A Brit who lives in Salem NH, USA

Re: GTN 750 Flight One Integration

Postby BG2518 » Tue Feb 27, 2018 5:13 am

fen (if I may call you that - lol),

I appreciate your offer of help. Frankly I'm too far gone to be resuscitated.

However, I have given up on FI as a long-term integration to P3D. It was interesting whilst I tried to use it but its not proving to be my go-to solution to VR in P3D.

Yes, when I could get it to work it was good but that's the point, conspiring issues and most NOT directly FI related were "always" at play and the developers must be bald by now.

The early days of flightsim seemed to have the program pretty fixed and running off of a pretty fixed O.S. and thus we all had a fairly stable environment to work with. I could pick up the sim, use it successfully and go back to it 6 months later with no issues.

Not only have I given up on FI but I'm 95% there also with P3D / Win 10 / Nvidia etc etc etc.

I see a glimmer of hope though in a new SIM that FI may be working on?

IF that SIM can be completely independent of Windows O.S. and be bootable (Linux?) then we may have a SIM that can once again be stable.

As of March 2017 - HTC Vive is actively working on Linux support!

Booting to the app was the way originally to make mission critical apps. The PC would be A DEDICATED SIMULATOR.

Hey ho, thanks again.
BG2518-Bob
Win10-64, i7-970(6 core)@3.2GHZ, 32GB DDR3@2133MHz, ASUS GTX1080 STRIXOC, 1 Samsung 48” 4k Monitor, Oculus CV1, Hotas Warthog Joystick and Throttle
BG2518
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 9:55 am

Re: GTN 750 Flight One Integration

Postby fenflame » Thu Mar 01, 2018 8:48 pm

BG2518 wrote:fen (if I may call you that - lol),

I appreciate your offer of help. Frankly I'm too far gone to be resuscitated.

However, I have given up on FI as a long-term integration to P3D. It was interesting whilst I tried to use it but its not proving to be my go-to solution to VR in P3D.

Yes, when I could get it to work it was good but that's the point, conspiring issues and most NOT directly FI related were "always" at play and the developers must be bald by now.

The early days of flightsim seemed to have the program pretty fixed and running off of a pretty fixed O.S. and thus we all had a fairly stable environment to work with. I could pick up the sim, use it successfully and go back to it 6 months later with no issues.

Not only have I given up on FI but I'm 95% there also with P3D / Win 10 / Nvidia etc etc etc.

I see a glimmer of hope though in a new SIM that FI may be working on?

IF that SIM can be completely independent of Windows O.S. and be bootable (Linux?) then we may have a SIM that can once again be stable.

As of March 2017 - HTC Vive is actively working on Linux support!

Booting to the app was the way originally to make mission critical apps. The PC would be A DEDICATED SIMULATOR.

Hey ho, thanks again.


I agree with you as far as the amount of wasted resources, redundant code and legacy crap in Windows. Its probably less than 30% efficient. I'm a control systems Engineer by trade, the OS I worked on mainly was UNIX (Solaris). We couldn't even use windows based machines at all for critical control systems. The first time we employed windows, was NT4 and that was just for dumb terminals running an X-Windows emulator. However as hardware has progressed and got more complex, accessing things like the GPU is really difficult without going through GUI OS drivers. Basically the hardware has to connect via the OS. Its been probably 20 years now since anything like a graphics card came with DOS drivers. The programmer is essentially isolated from hardware now more than ever. This is the same with Linux, which is essentially UNIX in a party frock. So forget any ideas of a simulator being written in assembler that interfaces directly with the hardware. Its just so complex and the information isn't publically available from the manufacturers to access the hardware at the levels needed. Plus there would be literally millions of hours of development required.
With every new version of an OS comes more crap most of us don't need bogging it down. Unfortunately this is also now starting to happen with the VR hardware too.
The best we can hope for is a ground up sim application that efficiently interface's through the OS with no legacy code.
Tying it to just Linux however would be commercial suicide, but a level of portability would be great.
You can still build a dedicated PC and if you know what you are doing customize the Windows setup to remove as much as possible the things you don't need. Its not ideal like you suggest, but it can bring in an extra 15 to 20 fps and certainly more stability compared with a default windows installation.
Win10-64, i7-4790K OC to 4.7GHZ, 16GB DDR3, EVGA GTX1070 8GB OC, 1 Monitor , CV1, Saitek Rudder Pedals, CH Eclipse Yoke, P3DV4
FI P3DV4 Beta Tester.
fenflame
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2016 10:42 pm
Location: A Brit who lives in Salem NH, USA

Re: GTN 750 Flight One Integration

Postby BG2518 » Tue Mar 06, 2018 5:17 am

FYI

http://home.flightgear.org/about/

FI pls support something like this.
BG2518-Bob
Win10-64, i7-970(6 core)@3.2GHZ, 32GB DDR3@2133MHz, ASUS GTX1080 STRIXOC, 1 Samsung 48” 4k Monitor, Oculus CV1, Hotas Warthog Joystick and Throttle
BG2518
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 9:55 am

Previous

Return to P3D Bug Reporting Here

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests